Frank the French Bulldog: How do I smile more?

Dear Paws to Talk,

At first glance, I may not look like the happiest dog on the planet. It is my loose jowls. They make it a bit more difficult for me to smile.

However, inside I am a jovial canine who loves others. Unfortunately, humans and other animals can be put off by my business-like appearance.

How do I smile more and let my inside personality show on the outside?

-Frank the French Bulldog

Howl Frank,

You have come to the right place! I love to smile and over my many years on this planet have perfected a winning grin.

                     Bella: Is this a smile or is this a smile?

On the other paw, DiDi is one of the happiest beings I know but doesn’t always flash her pearly whites. She likes to save her smiles for when they count. I think this is part of her guard dog instinct.

DiDi: I am smiling on the inside but working to protect my yard on the outside.

It is wonderful that you want to smile more because it will make others more comfortable around you and have an overall positive impact on your attitude.

Since you have some physical challenges that make it harder for you to smile, I suggest the following exercises.

1. Loosen up your jowls by shaking your head back and forth. Who cares if you get some drool on the humans’ floor? Shake it out!

2. Hop up on a chair in front of a mirror and smile. It is important to watch yourself do this because you want to show off an authentic smile. No one enjoys an awkward, half-smile.

3. Let you inner energy flow. The next time you are on a walk, smile at everyone. Soon you won’t even have to think about it. You will have a wide grin that everyone will adore.

Perfecting your smile is the easy part but having the desire to spread cheer is special.

Woof,

Bella

Bella

14 thoughts on “Frank the French Bulldog: How do I smile more?

  1. Bella, that is a prize-winning smile! I feel Frank’s pain. My mouth rarely smiles (but when I do – look out – I’m adorable). I am a very happy girl, but I let my tail and ears speak for me.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  2. This is a hard one for me to understand because being a Sheltie I have a NATURAL winning smile! That being said, I love the suggestion of “letting your inner energy flow” Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  3. Oh Bella, you are a natural 😀 Good thing you have DiDi being careful alongside. Great shame Frank thinks he needs to smile more, perhaps people need to be educated in the looks of each breed so they know they’re trying to smile but can’t?

Talk to us! We're listening.

