Carly the Human: I am not a morning person. Do you have any tips to help me?

Dear Paws to Talk,

I hate it when my alarm clock goes off very early each morning. I just want to stay in bed and go back to sleep for a while.

After a lot of cajoling, I get up and start my day. However, I spend so much energy pushing myself to get going that when I start my job I am already tired.

Unfortunately, I don’t have the ability to start my day later. Do you have any tips to help me get up?

-Carly the Human

Howl Carly,

*Sigh* I don’t like mornings either. I think they are not my favorite because I spend part of my nights watching over my yard instead of sleeping. Do you do the same thing?

Bella wakes everyone up very early with a crisp bark (I hope she gets laryngitis someday). I rollover in my bed but can’t avoid the humans leading me outside so I can take care of business. To say I understand how you feel is an understatement.

So both of us are not morning people but have to be up early. When I am bleary-eyed and hoping Bella will shut her kibble hole, the following things help me get ready to rise for the day.

Breakfast

I think about what I may find in my bowl after I take care of my business. Thankfully, the humans make a few different breakfast recipes and rotate them. We rarely have a boring meal.

You can do the same. Make you breakfast smell and taste scrumptious. This will wake up your body.

Companionship

Unless, you are a very important being, the world will not come to your bed. When you are upset about how early you have to get up, think about a friend or special someone you will see today.

I like to greet my Bouvier canine friend Josh every morning. We have lively discussions over the fence. If I buried myself in bed, I wouldn’t get to see Josh. He has an electric collar/fence which makes it difficult for him to leave his yard.

Reality

You have to go to work in order to earn enough bones for yourself to live. Unfortunately, this is your reality right now. Why spend your energy every morning dreading this fact?

Just get up and do it. It is not ideal but neither is the fact that I have to do my business outside in front of others. I would rather use a toilet with a heated seat.

Life is challenging enough so don’t give yourself another obstacle course to complete. Especially so early in the morning.

Woof,

DiDi

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

21 thoughts on “Carly the Human: I am not a morning person. Do you have any tips to help me?

  1. Pingback: One Foot in Front of the Other « terrysthoughtsandthreads

  2. Great advice, as always, Didi. I’m a morning person. I like being the first one up and getting some things done in quiet and ease – like taking Mickey for his walk. Perhaps it’s because I like what I wake up to that makes me a morning person…something to contemplate! xoxoM

  3. I agree with Easy; I think Carly would be so excited to wake up in the morning if she had a good pup to walk and feed and pet and play with! My mom and dad always talk about how they never sleep in since they got me. They seem very happy about it 🙂

  4. I am not a morning person either. Although a heated toilet seat sounds good, I’m not sure that would motivate me. My dogs, however, would love it, I’m sure. And my husband. And my daughter. Hmmm, maybe you’re onto something!

  5. DiDi, this is by far the best advice I’ve read regarding how to be more of a morning person! I am in awe of so many great tips! I’m glad Carly the human asked this question because it’s something I struggle with daily. Now I can incorporate this wonderful advice into my own morning routine! Thank you! 🙂

    • DiDi: Bella it is my pleasure to help! I’m glad this is useful. On behalf of my Bella and I we apologize for being away from your blog and promise to visit soon. These humans have kept us so busy this month. *Kisses*

Talk to us! We're listening.

