Poppy the Brussels Griffon: I like to be in control. Is something wrong with that?

Dear Paws to Talk,

Just like so many of us, I have humans to take care of, jobs to perform and a house to manage. I prefer that these things are done in an orderly manner so I take control of each situation.

If the humans aren’t doing what they are supposed to, I bark or give them a nudge with my nose. When working my jobs, I always finish my tasks and make sure they are done flawlessly. If the house is not in order, I drop my bone and clean it up.

My friends have told me I need to relax more and not always be in charge. The humans even call me an Army general in the body of a dog.

Is there something wrong with being in control?

-Poppy the Brussels Griffon

Howl Poppy,

We commend you on keeping things in order. With skills like that, you should be a CEO of a large corporation. Hopefully, you would be CEO of a premium kibble and treat company that is looking for two Standard Poodles to work in the test kitchen. Our palates are refined and hungry.

We wonder why you feel the need to be in control all the time? Life can be fleeting and we would hate for your to miss its joys because you are stuck at work late at night.

All of us have our moments when it feels satisfying to have things just as we want them. However, it is difficult to maintain that. Eventually, one of your humans might defy you, walk away from your nudges and put you in time-out (DiDi: I hate time-outs). Or you may not be able to finish all your work by the end of the day.

There is nothing wrong with being in control as long as you don’t tear your fur out when things become unpredictable.

This may be impossible to comprehend but let your humans do some of your work. We canines are here to help out but our main job is to be companions. Your humans have had it easy while you run around with your tongue hanging out the side of your face.

After all, your paws must be tired from always juggling your house, humans and jobs. Even though, your biceps are probably very toned.

Woof,

Bella and DiDi

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

15 thoughts on “Poppy the Brussels Griffon: I like to be in control. Is something wrong with that?

  1. I agree with Bella and DiDi! It is much more fun to relax and let your people take care of the tricky stuff 🙂 That way you can really focus on napping, cleaning the kitchen floor, and being cute!

Talk to us! We're listening.

