Jamie the Human: How do I express my opinion on the election without offending others?

Dear Paws to Talk,

As you probably know, yesterday, in America we had a presidential election. I have a very strong opinion about the outcome and want to yell it from the rooftops.

However, I don’t want to offend friends, family and co-workers around me who may have different feelings about the election outcome.

How do I express my feelings without offending others?

-Jamie the Human

Howl Jamie,

Thanks for your question! DiDi is sleeping in today but I am happy (and probably more qualified) to answer your question.

In my view, humans make things too complicated for themselves. Be proud of your belief. Share it with those who you know best. There is nothing wrong with that.

Now, expressing your view doesn’t mean you can act like a wild animal in your office or in public. You are not Tom Cruise on The Oprah Winfrey Show (No offense Tom. I loved you in Top Gun among other productions). No one likes to feel uncomfortable or awkward. I know this from experience.

When I was a puppy still living with my canine mom, Valentina, I disliked the chow we were eating. I wanted to keep nursing with Valentina. Apparently, that was no longer allowed. One day I went to latch on to her for some nourishment, but before I could yelp I found myself face down in a bowlful of some puppy food concoction. I felt so oppressed!

Don’t force others to share your view. Be satisfied with your own convictions and let that be enough. No one wants to have their snout pressed into a bowlful of something unappetizing.

Woof,

Bella

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

24 thoughts on “Jamie the Human: How do I express my opinion on the election without offending others?

  1. Great advice, however I would like to add that you cannot be responsible for how others react to you. That is their stuff :). Enjoy yourself and be kind. As long as you are not being really unfair and unpleasant, most reasonable people will not be offended.

  2. And here in lies our problem – “humans make things too complicated for themselves”! The world could learn a lot from these two poodles.

Talk to us! We're listening.

