Sheila the Cat: I’m dating online but not connecting with anyone I like. Should I continue?

Dear Paws to Talk,

I have been a single feline for quite a while so at the urging of my friends I joined an online dating site.

It has been fun to look at the gorgeous and interesting males on the site. I have written to many but the ones I like never write back.

Instead, I seem to get messages in my mailbox from men that I am not attracted to. I don’t want to sound superficial but I like a guy that is not losing his fur, doesn’t crack jokes about his time in the litter box and wants to accomplish goals in life. Why is that too much to ask for?

I am not sure how to meet my mate at this point. I know many animals and humans who have met their mates online. Should I continue the online dating?

-Sheila the Cat

Howl Sheila,

We’re glad you wrote to us. Even though our kind is supposed to disagree with your kind, we find ourselves relating to your question as we are two single ladies too.

It is one of the great mysteries of our time as to why it can be so difficult to find the right mate. We are determined to get to the bottom of this, even if we have to dig night and day in our yard to find the buried answer.

It is terrific that you are putting yourself out there. If you stay hiding behind the sofa or in your carpeted cat tower then no mate will ever find you.

We think you should stick with the online dating. It seems to be an effective tool even though it may not work wonders right away.

In addition to that, do some other things to help find your mate. If there is an activity you enjoy or cause your believe in (Perhaps, a litter box etiquette group?) then join the groups that participate in these things.This way you can meet some males who share your values.

Also, when you are looking out the window or out with your humans, keep your eyes wide. You never know when the right guy will appear.

Do they have magical powers? We have heard so many stories of men appearing at the right time in a woman’s life.

What can we say? It can be hard being a single woman these days. However, don’t lose hope. Also, don’t settle for a feline that doesn’t make your heart flutter.

We’ll keep digging for a solution. If all else fails let’s get together and have a single ladies’ night on the town.

Woof,

Bella and DiDi

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

13 thoughts on “Sheila the Cat: I’m dating online but not connecting with anyone I like. Should I continue?

  1. The right cat would be that who brings you a rotten fish from the trash.
    Meaning he has to put food on table, otherwise send him home.
    Sheila, enjoy the single life, have fun and kill some squirrels.

Talk to us! We're listening.

