Goldie the Poodle: What should I be for Halloween?

Dear Paws to Talk,

My neighborhood Halloween party is this weekend and I have no idea what to dress up as. Last year, I went as a ghost and many people told me I wasn’t very creative. Of course, this is not true as I like to paint portraits in my spare time.

I just ran out of time to get a lovely costume. This year, I really want to make a fabulous impression. What should I be?


Howl Goldie,

We’re sorry that others made fun of your costume last year. This year you are going to wow them with your creative and festive look. After much barking, we have come up with the following suggestions.

Dress as your favorite food

Bella: I would be a filet of salmon.

DiDi: I would be a stick of butter.

Don’t forget to eat your costume after the party!

Be an Olympian

Bella: I would be Nadia Comaneci. Who wouldn’t want to be a perfect 10?

DiDi: I would be Misty May-Treanor. Anyone who gets to run around the beach all day is my kind of human.

Remember to accessorize with your gold medals!

Go as your favorite TV character

Bella: I would go as Joan Holloway from Mad Men.

DiDi: I would go as Brenda Leigh Johnson from The Closer.

Master an impression of your character.

Be a newspaper headline

Bella: “Standard Poodle becomes first dog to win Nobel Prize”

DiDi: “Dog digs hole from her yard to China”

Be sure to fact check your costume before going out.


Bella and DiDi
















© Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

24 thoughts on “Goldie the Poodle: What should I be for Halloween?

  1. We like all your ideas but the newspaper headlines are our favorite…we really like both your ideas on this one. Hugs and nose kisses

  2. Ladies, you have given Goldie some excellent ideas! This year, Roxy is going to dress up as a little witch! I can’t wait to take photos of her for a Halloween post! I look forward to seeing both of you in costume. Please tell mom to take a photo! :)

  3. Some excellent ideas! I think I’m going to dress up as cheese. I may need a reserve costume though, just in case the cheese one doesn’t last long enough.

Talk to us! We're listening.

