Anonymous Human: I know of a scandal in my office. What should I do?

Dear Paws to Talk,

Recently, I became aware of some wrongdoing by one of my co-workers. It’s a complicated situation and I don’t want to explain all of the details.

Basically, co-worker and one of our bosses are taking company money that doesn’t belong to them. I have seen signs of this behavior but a few days ago the co-worker bragged about it to me.

I think he sees me as someone who is not bold enough to blow the whistle on him. He is right that I am quiet and usually keep to myself. However, I can’t stand by and watch this happen.

The problem is I don’t know who to speak to about this matter. Also, I am worried that discussing this scandal will make it look like I am involved. I can’t lose my job.

What should I do?

-Anonymous Human

Howl Human,

I don’t work in an office so it is hard for me to relate to exactly what you are going through.

The one time mommy brought me to her office I ate a pile of sticky notes and kept demanding cuddles from the staff. Needless to say, no one got much work done and I learned that sticky notes are the farthest thing from a satisfying snack.

You need to speak with a leader of your pack who you can trust. Pick someone who knows you and will be able to take your findings to the next level without involving you. Take some time to think about who is the right human to help you.

Don’t worry about being mixed in with the bad guys. Intelligent leaders know who the good pack members are and the ones who are just in it for the post-work treats.

Once you have unburdened yourself, refocus on your work. Based on my day at the office, it seems like many humans pound their paws on some kind of board all day. Make sure you pound your paws the hardest.

These disobedient humans will have to face the consequences for their actions. I hope their punishment includes eating several packages of sticky notes. Trust me, they will be very sorry.

Woof,

Bella

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

13 thoughts on “Anonymous Human: I know of a scandal in my office. What should I do?

  1. I used to work at an office with 60 women and 5 guys, the girls were always scrapping but the guys got along fine. Naturally I usually had lunch with the guys, so I got talked about even more. Office politics are the worst. That was some good advise, I’ll think about not eating sticky notes.

  2. Oh, Bella, you are wise as you are beautiful! This is a “sticky” situation, for sure! I think this human is going to have to be very brave and think careful about how to proceed. I think your advice that he or she go through the proper channels with someone trusted is the best course of action. We’ll have to wait and see what happens! :)

  3. Good advice Bella,though tricky! It is important to find that trustworthy person to confide in. I hope the human writes to you again so we can see how things are going.

Talk to us! We're listening.

