Charlie the Boston Terrier: How do I spice up my weekends?

Dear Paws to Talk,

Lately, my weekends have been very boring. My human has been working hard and has just wanted to lay on the couch and relax. She is not neglecting me by any means. We still go on a walk a day and I have plenty of toys and kibble.  However, I am over this lazy scene. I need my weekends to get away from the grind of digging holes, fetching and taking care of my yard. What can I do to make my weekends more fun?

-Charlie the Boston Terrier

Howl Charlie,

Just because your human wants to sit on the couch and be distracted by the TV doesn’t mean you have to. Go out into the yard and start a conversation with your neighbors. Find out what is going on in their lives and on the block.

Use your athletic ability to get the car keys off the counter. Seize them. Then stand in front of your resting human and shake the keys. If she gets annoyed don’t be deterred. Keep shaking until you get a car ride. Enjoy the time away from your yard. Take in the sites. See what others are doing. A nice car ride always allows me to recharge my battery. Plus, I like the heated seats in my humans’ car. I hope you have those too.

When you are out on walk, talk to canines. Keep an eye out for that female you like. See if anyone wants to get together for a game of chase.

If you want more excitement then you have to take this situation into your own paws and make it better. A fun-filled weekend does not appear out of thin air. Hopefully, your human will snap out of it and want to do some more activities on the weekend. If not then keep reminding her. Dangle those car keys.

Good luck.



© Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

18 thoughts on “Charlie the Boston Terrier: How do I spice up my weekends?

  1. Hey Charlie,

    Great advice as always from DiDi and also don’t forget there’s always Mischief!! I like to grab something (needs to belong to the human, so it’s of value), then you run up near them and show your spoils, before you know it you’ve got a game of chase going!! Tee Hee – Works every time! :)

    Have fun,

    Your pal Snoopy :)

  2. You should publish books.

    I need advice.
    I have a black furry beast that ever since we moved he pees every other day inside, he’s driving me crazy. I’m about to sell him to the gipsies. I know it’s probably because he wants to mark his place, but should he always pee on the door way? Marble was recently polished and now you can see the spot in there.
    How do I re-polish that marble without polishing the whole floor?
    He stopped peeing inside 4 months ago, why going back?
    I’m poor, can’t afford white vinegar, so what should I do to keep him from peeing there?
    And lastly, are you girls looking for a furry black roommate?
    Thanks for your help.

    Should email you this too?
    I guess I should.

Talk to us! We're listening.

