Bella and DiDi: The greeting is everything.

Howl,

Unfortunately, leaving is a part of life. However, a lovely greeting can wash away any loneliness, anxiety and sadness brought on by the separation.

What is your favorite way to greet others?

    We’re getting ready to greet our humans with kisses, hugs and toys.

Woof,

Bella and DiDi

© Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

39 thoughts on “Bella and DiDi: The greeting is everything.

  1. Coming home to an enthusiastic greeting by my fur family is the best part of the day. No matter how crappy the day has gone, no matter how down or self-critical I am, the fur-family still loves me. so my favorite greeting is the jumping, excitement, and just flat noticing I came home. They all need to check me out to be sure I’m okay and ask for the same in return.

  2. I greet Mumsy by running around and around her several times then when she stoops down I give her kisses all over her face. I don’t greet anyone else other than to bark. Hugs and nose kisses

  3. You Guys are so sweet,

    I have different greetings for everyone – the kids get boisterous – Dad gets me trying to be calm and sit before he pets me but it’s hard to put my butt down cos my tails wagging so much – and my Mum just gets me having a good stretch and a hey, you’re back? I need a cuddle! :)

    Hope you’re having a fun day :)

    Your pal Snoopy :)

  4. Doggy’s greeting depends on what he has done, if he’s been good he would wait by the door and start licking you, if he’s been bad, he would play dead and don’t move until you scratch his belly.

  5. I love to meet my friends and family at the door with a big wag and a toothy grin. Then I run for the couch and leap on it so I’m closer to petting level. It’s a very satisfying way to welcome people into my home. Satisfying for me, at any rate.

  6. Bella will always run to get a toy for you to share. She has done it since she was a puppy. Sometimes she gets one toy, but then decides she needs to get you another one. I’ve never stopped appreciating that lovely gesture. Beary likes to get his big head right up in your face (or under your arm that’s filled with shopping/bags and Bubba for some loves. What an awesome welcome home – whether we’ve been gone 5 minutes or all day!

  7. Ummm, usually I dooo’s the sniffing fing..Youz nose what I means :) but wiff my HUMOM I just jump on her and knock her down flat..She nose I luv’s her that way :) Pop over tomorrows…Catz don’t rule..I willz show youz how.. :)
    Big Hugs to youz boff..Gals have got to stick togeffer xx00xx

  8. Well, I am not a very good greeter Mommy says, since I get scared and stay at the top of the steps and bark like crazy at anyone that comes in the door. Sofie just jumps on them – Lulu Belle

  9. I like to greet people with a head rub. I walk up to them and rub my head on their leg. I consider that a poodle rub hug. When My ma comes home I give her full arms around the waist Poodle hug. Don’t you wish they could take you everywhere with them?

  10. When it’s my Mom and Dad I grab my red, white & blue ball and run around while Mom sings “Hooray for the red, white & blue”…if it’s anyone else that I don’t know I either bark or ignore them . Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  11. No matter what happened in my day, nothing beets the big welcome home I get from Eko. It makes a bad day good and a good day great.

Talk to us! We're listening.

