Stella the Human: How does one decide what to believe in?

Dear Paws to Talk,

I am a recent college graduate who is just entering the “real world.” Finally, I have my own apartment and am providing for myself.

I am cherishing my independence but find myself feeling a bit lost. Since I was a little girl, I have always viewed the world as my parents did. Whether it was politics, religion or opinion I fell in line with them.

Now, I find myself not in complete agreement with their beliefs and unsure what exactly rings true for me.

How does one decide what to believe in?

-Stella the Human

Howl Stella,

Congratulations on your independence! How lovely it feels when you carve out a little place in the world for yourself.

We don’t have our own apartment (maybe someday we will) but we do have our yard where we feel free to do whatever we want. Sometimes out there, we slip out of our collars and run around naked. Don’t tell our humans.

Being able to stand up on all two or four of your paws and confidently express your thoughts is an important part of adulthood. We understand why you are questioning if your parents’ ways fit into your new life.

Our beliefs are simple yet effective. We developed them over the years after going through various experiences. Feel free to use which ever ones you want. They are as follows:

1. Share when possible. We can’t play with all of our toys at once. We’ve tried and it doesn’t work.

2. Never stop learning. Bella is an avid reader. DiDi is constantly discovering new animals, paths and plants outside.

3. Own your mistakes. Nothing is perfect. Not even our fur after it has been groomed.

4. Be honest. A lie will eat you. We would rather eat kibble.

At this point, we think you should write down what values are most important to you. What kind of life do you want to lead? How will you treat others? Who influences you in a positive way?

It seems like many humans compromise themselves when the storm of issues, values and politics starts swirling over our society. As long as your stay true to your beliefs, the storm will pass over you with minimal damage.

Woof,

Bella and DiDi

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

33 thoughts on “Stella the Human: How does one decide what to believe in?

  1. That’s some solid advice. I have to admit that this kind of scenario often happens in our country, especially when you’ve lived with head strong parents for a long time.

    Huggies and Cheese,

    Haopee of MyDogsLove.Me

  2. Wise girls, as usual.
    I believe in my bite-guard. If I go to bed and can’t have a good night of sleep without a whirlpool of thoughts and shouldas, wouldas and couldas in my head, I’m happy cuz I know I’ve done what I thought it was right and no teeth clenching will occur. However, if I have to wear my bite-guard is because I’ve sinned.

Talk to us! We're listening.

