Toby the Poodle: I am thriving in a new place! My exclusive advice interview with Bella and DiDi.

        Toby: I fell asleep on my mom’s lap. I feel comfy in my new home.

Howl,

Two weeks ago our human sister (we call her Rosebud) adopted a handsome 6-year-old, Apricot Poodle named Toby. We love having another spunky Poodle in the family! 

He is still adjusting but has made great strides since being adopted. We interviewed Toby about his experience this morning in our yard.

Bella and DiDi: How do you feel two weeks after being adopted?

Toby: I am relieved and happy! At first, I was very scared, when your sister put me on a leash and brought me into her car. I just wanted to go back to the lady at the shelter who took care of me.

However, now that I am settled in my new place, getting a lot of cuddles and eating yummy kibble I feel better. Plus, the new plush toys my mom has bought for me have helped a lot. I like to toss them around the house.

                                       Toby: I love to give kisses!

B&D: That is great. How did you feel when you met us for the first time?

T: I was excited to play with you both. I love other doggies! However, I did get a little sick of DiDi constantly hovering over me.

D: Toby I am sorry. When a new being enters my house, I feel an urge to mother them and make sure they are okay.

B: Yeah right! You just want them to do exactly what you are doing.

D: *Shamefully covers eyes with paws* Okay, I can be bossy around newer and smaller beings. I don’t understand why I do this. I will try to be better Toby.

T: Okay, DiDi. Just as long as you try to be better. I am a big boy. There is no need to worry about me.

D: I am starting a new self-help book tonight. I hope to find answers.

T: Happy reading!

B&D: Do you miss your original family? Why did they bring you to the shelter?

T: *Sigh* It’s complicated. I do miss them. They got me when I was a puppy and raised me to be a nice adult. I am trying to focus on the new family that I have now.

My original humans lost a lot of their bones and our dog house. They couldn’t afford my kibble anymore so they dropped me off that the local shelter.

When they left, it was the saddest moment in my life. It shattered my heart. I was in the shelter for two months.

B&D: We would be full of sorrow if our humans did that to us. You are a lovely boy and we don’t know how anyone could let go of their dog. It must be a human problem we don’t understand.

Since you have adjusted so well to new and difficult circumstances in your life, what advice do you have for others trying to make it in a new place?

T: I think the most important thing to do is be yourself. If you like to run around then do it. If you don’t like the kibble you are being fed then let that be known.

Also, no matter how upset you are about the past, allow yourself to be open to new relationships. You may find new family members who love you with all of their hearts. However, you will never know this if you don’t give it a try.

Toby: I like to sit above the action and observe. See I even did it when I visited Bella and DiDi’s house.

B&D: Toby you are very wise!

T: Why thank you!

B&D: We may let you write a blog every now and then.

T: Oh, how exciting that would be! I think I have time to write.

B&D: This we have to mull over some more. We don’t just hand over the keys to our castle that easily.

T: I understand. I have plenty of chewing, eating, playing and pooping to do in the meantime.

B&D: Spectacular.

B&D: We are so thrilled you are a part of our family. You make our Rosebud very happy.

T: Thanks for welcoming me!

B&D: It’s our pleasure.

Woof,

Bella and DiDi

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

34 thoughts on “Toby the Poodle: I am thriving in a new place! My exclusive advice interview with Bella and DiDi.

  1. Pingback: Toby the Poodle: 3 ways to get over it! | Paws to Talk

  2. Pingback: Byron the Boxer: I learned how to hold a conversation with ladies I like! My exclusive advice interview with Toby. | Paws to Talk

  3. Pingback: Bella and DiDi: Let yourself adjust. | Paws to Talk

  4. Pingback: Byron the Boxer: I need some new pick-up lines. Can you help? | Paws to Talk

  5. Hi Toby (and Bella and DiDi)

    This is very exciting – I’ve been super busy with my human nephews who are visiting and I missed this awesome news!!

    It’s great to meet you Toby – I think you’ve got great buddies in Bella and DiDi, just don’t let the Girlies think they’re in charge though Dude!! Tee Hee

    Have fun everyone

    Your pal Snoopy :)

  6. Toby, jumping up on furniture is a big part of training your family. When I first got adopted, I went straight from the front door to the chair and then moved to the couch. In my head, I said, “Mine. Mine. Mine.” And guess what – I was right!!

    Love and good luck licks,
    Cupcake

    • Toby: Cupcake I am so glad to hear that. When I came to my new home, I went jumped right up on my mommy’s bed and then her couch. I keep waiting to see if she kicks me off but it hasn’t happened yet. I think they are mine :)

  7. Yay for Toby (and his family), I was curious to read news from him.
    The pic of the 3 of you is great.
    It’d be nice to have the insight of a guy every now and then if Toby get’s hired as an author on your blog lol

  8. Oh how exciting..a new member of family for you Bella & Didi and a super poodle colour coordination for your home. Good luck with the first few weeks of settling in Toby..I’m sure you will have some more things to say – I am looking forward to some fun with my girlfriend Cleo the white Poodle in France – I’ll see her next week..yipee..you Poodles are sooo much fun to be with..and now there are three of you – get the party started! xx

  9. Oh Toby you are indeed WISE!!! I love how you said to keep your heart open…I am so sorry your first owners had to give you up, but it was necessary so that you could be with the wonderful family you are now with.
    I for sure want you to write a blog too!!
    So happy for you Toby!
    That was a wonderful interview!
    Barks and licks and love, Dakota

Talk to us! We're listening.

