Rory the Teenaged Human: Should I watch the news?

Dear Paws to Talk,

I enjoy watching television like most teenagers do. I mostly watch sports and music videos. My parents keep telling me that I should watch more news. They claim I need to be aware of what is happening in the world.

Although, when I actually watch the news, it makes me sad. It seems like all the news programs only air stories about shootings, wars, people without jobs and a lot of confusing politics. After a half-hour of watching news I feel blue and a bit helpless. Do I really need to watch the news?

-Rory the Teenaged Human

Howl Rory,

It is nice to hear from a member of the younger human set. You have asked an excellent  question.

We watch the news sometimes with our humans. However, when they started barking back at the TV we leave the room. They can be so embarrassing!

It is our opinion that you should watch the news. Your parents are right in that you need to be aware of events and issues in our world. Unfortunately, violence, disaster and crime are apart of the society we live in. Maybe seeing all of this despair will make you realize how lucky you are?

While you need to know about the serious stuff that happens in this world, it doesn’t have to be the only news you take in. There are many positive things going on such as animal adoption, scientific breakthroughs and thriving volunteer programs.

Of course, don’t forget to stay current on your canine news publications and blogs. Our community has a lot of good information to offer. Plus, you might get a plush toy or bone with your subscription to these news outlets. That is something the network news shows don’t offer.

Take it all in and decide what issues touch your heart. The world can be a sad place but you have the ability to change that message.

Woof,

Bella and DiDi

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk with appropriate and specific direction to the original content

13 thoughts on “Rory the Teenaged Human: Should I watch the news?

  1. Psst…Rory the news of today is not the news of your parents’ time. It is no longer who, what, where, but a lot of slanted opinion. Do yourself a favor and skip it. 🙂

  2. Do we really have “the news” anymore? I think not, at least not in this country. If you really want to get a grip on what’s going on in the world, skip the United States news organizations and watch the news from England and other English-speaking countries. It’s amazing.

  3. I have every sympathy with Josh – watching the news is thoroughly depressing! But then so is a lot of tv that is labelled entertainment. We mostly read the news online.

  4. I totally agree with the advice you gave, ladies. As sad and upsetting as the news can be, I do find that most programs try to show uplifting stories about perseverance, family, our military, etc. Wouldn’t want to miss those!

  5. I don’t like to watch the news on television either, so I listen to news on the radio instead. I’ve heard that if watching the news on television is too depressing, a person can try reading the newspaper instead. Evidently, humans are more able to be logical and thoughtful (instead of emotional and reactive) when they read.

  6. I agree that being aware is a good thing. I don’t recommend watching news before going to bed at night, and for most stories getting the headlines is enough.

    I recommend that you maintain a ratio of more positive news than negative by a ratio of at least 2 to 1. I believe the ratio for many people is about 95% negative and think that hurts those people and society in general.

    Focus on the positive while being aware of what needs to be changed and doing what your heart calls you to do to change it. That will lead to a better attitude, a better you, and a better world.

    Russ

Talk to us! We're listening.

