Ramona the Horse: I actually love my job! My exclusive advice interview with Bella and DiDi.


Through our travels on the web and in real life we come across too many beings who are unhappy with their tasks in life. We feel bad that this seems to be a common occurrence.

Each day, we live like there may not be another. We play hard, give and receive love and eat all treats and kibble that come our way.

We wish more beings could do the same. So when a horse with an upbeat attitude contacted us about how much she loves her work, we felt the need to find out how and why.

Below is a recent interview we conducted with Ramona the Horse.

Bella and DiDi: Ramona, thank you so much for introducing yourself to us over the internet.

Ramona: My pleasure.

Bella and DiDi: So, tell us what you do?

Ramona: Well, I live in the Sonoran Desert in Arizona. My humans run a small business where under their leadership human guests will take me on rides through the beautiful scenery.

Bella and DiDi:  Why do you like it so much?

Ramona: I like meeting new humans and being outside. Plus, I enjoy being active and using my muscles. I am not one to just graze all day. Also, my best friend and stable mate Rose comes with me on most rides. We chit-chat as we work.

Bella and DiDi: That does sound like a fulfilling job. How did you find this work?

Ramona: Well, I have to admit that it was a bit of luck. My humans got me when I was young and they groomed me for this task. However, I enjoyed it so I made sure they knew that. I wanted to secure my future position.

Not everyone on our ranch does what I do. Some help with chores. Others do volunteer work. There is always an option to find a job you like.

Bella and DiDi: Do you ever have a bad day at work?

Ramona: Of course! Sometimes, if we are doing a tour through a certain part of the desert there are wild animals that rear their heads. I get scared are forget what I am doing. Thankfully, my humans are there to make me feel better but I hate those days.

Bella and DiDi: But you keep working the next day?

Ramona: I do. I would be bored if I only relaxed at the ranch. The horror of the day before usually passes once I am back at work.

Bella and DiDi: What advice can you give to those who don’t like their jobs or are looking for a job that will make them happy?

Ramona: I think the first thing to do is find the beings that you like spending your time with. I love my human and equine family. If you are around friends or family that you enjoy then work will become more fun.

Take some time to sit in a pasture and discover what you really want to do. It will come to you. Then, do everything you can to get it. You might have to use all of your muscles and dig deep.

Bella and DiDi: Ramona thank you so much for speaking to us about your work. If we ever make it out to the desert will you take us on a tour?

Ramona: Absolutely!

Bella and DiDi: Fabulous! We’ll get our cowgirl hats ready.


Bella and DiDi
















© Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

22 thoughts on “Ramona the Horse: I actually love my job! My exclusive advice interview with Bella and DiDi.

  1. Sweet DiDi and sweet Bella we enjoyed reading this interview. Ramona the horse gave some good advice. Hugs and nose kisses

  2. What an interesting interview. Whee gotta say whee love horses. Though they are really big and would probably squish us, whee share a passion for hay. Glorius hay!!!

    Nibbles, Nutty, Bingo & Buddy

  3. Great interview, girls! I bet you’d love to visit the desert and take a tour with Ramona. And I know you’d both look fabulous in cowgirl hats! :-)

Talk to us! We're listening.

