Sharon the Human: I am redecorating. Do you have any tips?


Dear Paws to Talk,

I am about to redecorate my kitchen and am unsure about which color scheme to choose. My husband wants to use neutral tones but I would like to do something more lively.

So far, the decorators have shown us several of options but we have been unable to come to a decision. For years, we have saved up to redo this kitchen so it is important that we have a fantastic finished product.

Do you have any tips on what style we should use?

-Sharon the Human


Howl Sharon,

I have the panache for decorating so DiDi has respectfully bowed out of answering this letter. Many tell me that I have impeccable taste so I feel confident I can give you some good tips.

For starters, kudos for redecorating what I consider to be the most important room in the house. As far as I am concerned, the room where the kibble is distributed cannot be topped.

I think that you should talk your husband out of making the kitchen neutral. Life is too short to be surrounded by beige.

Decorating is a very personal experience so please don’t feel obligated to use my suggestions. You have to feel comfortable with the design.

I suggest a blue as the main color with some accents of sunshine yellow. Also, you could do a blue with hints of chocolate-brown. Sage green is also a refreshing color to use which looks wonderful with white or a pale yellow.

No matter what colors you choose, don’t go crazy and make your kitchen look a cartoon fun house. A little bit goes a long way. Make sure that the floors are a classic wood or tile so your color scheme shines. Your husband can even pick a neutral tone floor.

Be sure to take a moment to savor the excitement of this project. After all, you have been dreaming of it for a long time.

Good luck! I can’t wait to see the after photos!











© Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

24 thoughts on “Sharon the Human: I am redecorating. Do you have any tips?

  1. I’m with you, Bella. I love a colorful house. When I was choosing paint colors, I found a fun blog by a Canadian decorator who offers lots of good advice to help people choose exactly the right shades. It’s called Colour Me Happy. Maybe Sharon can get some ideas there and will find photos to help her convince her husband not to be afraid of color.

  2. I hope you don’t think this is too boring Bella but I am with that husband. Go white as the main ‘colour’ (there are so many whites now it’s ridiculous) then add colour here and there later? I hope this doesn’t make you howl in frustration – hehe!

Talk to us! We're listening.

