Monica the Human: Should I adopt a second dog?

Monica’s dog Henry the Cavalier King Charles Spaniel. Courtesy of Monica’s Tangled Web


Dear Paws to Talk

I’ve been thinking of adopting a second dog, but I want a very little one who can fit nicely on my lap. Some of my friends say I should do it, others say no, because I work full-time and it’s hard enough to take care of Henry. Plus, Henry may not want another dog in his home. Any suggestions for me?

Monica the Human

Howl Monica,

We’re glad you have reached out to us for advice on this very important decision. As you know, adding a dog to your family is a big deal even if you are already a canine parent. We demand a lot of love, treats and fine kibble among other things.

Before you do anything, sit down and put your paw to paper. Write out a schedule of what a typical day in your life is like. See if there is time for this second dog. Thoughts can run wild in our minds until we write them down. The paper doesn’t lie.

If you do get a second dog, Henry will need sometime to adjust. However, we think this could be a good thing for him. When you leave the house for work, he will have a friend to talk to and play with. Beware of any mischief that the pair will likely engage in.

Ultimately, you hold the answer to this question somewhere within you (it could be stuck in your collar). No one else knows better what you are capable of than you.

If are able and willing to give a second dog a good home, we think you should. Otherwise, Henry is going to have to learn how to sit on your lap.


Bella and DiDi
















© Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

39 thoughts on “Monica the Human: Should I adopt a second dog?

  1. My daddy would like me to have a brother or sister and so would I. But mummy says no – or at least until I am properly trained (though she obviously has that the wrong way round as its them that needs the training!).

    I like to stand on laps rather than sitting, which often causes my daddy discomfort, but I can’t figure out why…

    Anyway, hope you manage to come to a decision soon.

  2. Yep, really tough decision guys!!

    My Mum would like another Doggie, but Dad says I’m enough to handle, huh? BUT we kind of have the best of both worlds as we take my buddy Cosmo out running with us every day and I can see and play with him whenever I like, plus we have sleepovers, so it’s kinda like having another Doggie!

    Can’t wait to see what she decides :)

    Wags to all

    Your pal Snoopy :)

    • Clowie, Henry is a Cavalier King Charles Spaniel. They’re supposed to be small and light, and they’re supposed to make great lap dogs. But, not my Henry.

      Let me put it this way: If the Cleveland Cavaliers NBA team ever decided to accept dogs, Henry would make the team hands down. Everyone that meets him says he’s the biggest Cavalier they’ve ever seen. So maybe his breed make wonderful lapdogs, but this kiddo? Too heavy! ;)

      • I stand and put my head down onto a lap sometimes. My head is the right height to give the bipeds a big sloppy kiss in the face when they’re sitting down. Henry is too big and too small!

      • Clowie, what you do sounds adorable. I’d even love if Henry could do that. But you’re right. He’s tall for his breed, but not tall enough! :)

  3. I don’t think we would ever consider another one Chancy would be too jealous. Hugs and nose kisses

  4. I, as a new dog owner was sooooo enthusiastic about it that was thinking about getting another one, a companion for lonesome Doggy, wrong! I was soooo wrong! I did just what Bella and Didi said, and also took another dog for a weekend, I can’t deal with a puppy and an older dog, however, I haven’t discarded the idea, sometime in the distant future I’ll Doggy a crime partner so they can destroy my place and drive me to madness.

  5. We like to introduce a potential new dog to our current canine friend to see if they are compatible. Often it becomes very clear real fast whether a friendship is likely. We’ve learned that when current dog faces away from possible dog, that is doggy talk for “I’m not interested,” But what am I telling the two of you beautiful dogs for? You already know! It might help a human though.


    • I wish Henry could fit on my lap, as I think he’d enjoy that too. But he does sit beside me from time to time. Sometimes I think Henry thinks he’s a cat. He’s such a loner! Quite often, he goes off by himself somewhere and naps the day away! His favorite spot is in the car, in the backseat. He can sleep there for hours and gets in the car, even when we’re not going out!

  6. Bella and DiDi, this is such great, sound and practical advice! I love the idea of writing my schedule down to see whether I can manage two. Thank you, thank you to you both for taking time to think this through for me. My heart is all twisted up in knots that it’s hard to think straight. I’m sending you lots of hugs today!

    • Monica,

      We hope this helps you. It was our pleasure to write this. I think you’ll see that a lot of people struggle with this. Our humans did when deciding to get DiDi. Let is know how it goes.

      *Kisses* and *hugs*

      Bella and DiDi

  7. I’ve often thought that Lola would enjoy having a puppy, but I do worry about the extra time. I like your suggestion of writing down my schedule to see if a puppy would fit in it. Math doesn’t lie! :)

  8. Pingback: Puppy Fever! « Monica's Tangled Web

Talk to us! We're listening.

