Jaden the Cocker Spaniel: I’m having a bad day. Can I fast-forward to tomorrow?


Dear Paws to Talk,

*Sigh* Today has not been good. I woke up with an infected ear and was immediately chauffeured to the vet by my human.

However, I was happy to be returned to my yard in time for a scheduled ballgame with my neighbors. I have been looking forward to this game for a while. Unfortunately, I played horribly and wasn’t able to enjoy myself. 

I sauntered into the house where my human forced some drops down my sensitive ear. Shockingly, she didn’t give me a treat after I let her touch my ear. 

To top it off, I am now quarantined in the bedroom to rest. I feel like I’m in jail. 

Can I forget about today and move onto tomorrow?

-Jaden the Cocker Spaniel

Howl Jaden,

You have really been through a lot today and it isn’t even time for dinner yet. We get ear infections a lot. It is the price we pay for having fluffy ears that enhance our flawless profiles.

Everybody has bad days from time to time. However, we don’t think there is a fast-forward button available to speed through them. Although, that would be nice.

While you are in jail, we’d like to give you some kibble for thought. Here it is:

-Forget about your poor ballgame performance. Organize another game when you are feeling better and give it your all.

-Give in to this day. Accept that is has been lackluster. There is no sense dwelling on the unfortunate events that have occurred or may occur.

-Take a nap. The world looks like a different place when you are well-rested.

-After the nap, remind your human that she owes you a treat. That is truly unforgivable.

Sometimes you need to experience unfortunate things in order to get to the good stuff. However, if you find a way to fast-forward through the bad stuff, let us know immediately.


Bella and DiDi
















© Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk with appropriate and specific direction to the original content


24 thoughts on “Jaden the Cocker Spaniel: I’m having a bad day. Can I fast-forward to tomorrow?

  1. I’d like the secret of fast-forwarding through the tough times too! ;) Naps are always a good idea, things always seem better after a good nap. Plus you forget all your woes while you’re sleeping! :)

  2. Humans can be very insensitive about treats sometimes. I don’t think they “forget” on purpose. They just have more on their minds than we do. Feel better soon, Jaden.

    Love and licks,

  3. Great advice as usual. Whee just want to add that whee think a nap is a good idea. Demand some cuddles too. Whee hooe you feel better soon.

    Nibbles, Nutty, Bingo & Buddy

  4. Poor old Jaden – not much fun. Your advice dear Bella and DiDi is great. We have two Cockers and they feel much the same when they get ear infections. Tomorrow is always better as they heal so quickly ;-)

  5. We’ve all had bad days but the “no treat” was unforgivable. I’m sure you can find some great means of punishment (removing trash from the bin and distributing it evenly throughout the garden has proven successful before)

Talk to us! We're listening.

