Alexis the Human: I need a vacation but can’t afford it. What should I do?

Dear Paws to Talk,

I am a single mom who works long hours to provide for my two children. I am grateful to have my family and my job but am feeling burned-out.

Lately, I have been thinking of taking a weeklong vacation to a tropical destination. Even though the trip is outside of my budget, I feel I need it to recharge my batteries. However, I have anxiety about spending so much money on travel.

Should I take the vacation?

-Alexis the Human

Howl Alexis,

You are the first human we have met that runs on batteries. We wonder if our humans run on batteries too. We’ll have to look into this.

Nonetheless, we understand the dilemma you are dealing with. Everyone deserves some time to relax and collect their thoughts. A tropical paradise sounds like a perfect place to do that.

However, if break your budget in order to take this trip, we think it will be difficult for you to enjoy yourself. You will probably feel guilty about spending the money. We feel this way when we have eaten too many treats and not saved enough for later. It is a bad feeling.

We recommend that you take a week off from work but don’t spend your money on a fancy trip. Instead, stay home and relax. Spend some extra time with your family. Patronize nearby attractions. Often times, we have the best time staying home.

This doesn’t mean you should give up on the idea of taking a fabulous trip someday. If it is that important to you, then make a travel fund and add to it when you can. This will help you travel without worry in the future.

The beach and cabana boys aren’t going anywhere.

Woof,

Bella and DiDi

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk with appropriate and specific direction to the original content

18 thoughts on “Alexis the Human: I need a vacation but can’t afford it. What should I do?

  1. Fab advice girls (as always!)

    Hey, I met one of your humans at Blogpaws – it was so cool!! :)

    Not sure about your human, but my human and I totally feel like we need a vacation this week, I don’t think we’re going anywhere, but I’m sure gonna say that Bella and DiDi say I shouldn’t do any chores!! Tee Hee :)

    Wags to all

    Your pal Snoopy :)

    • Snoopy,

      You worked hard so please tell your mum that the chores can wait until next week. Our human is a bit tired this week. She hasn’t played ball with us as much as usual. Did they let you guys sleep at Blog Paws?

      Bella and DiDi

  2. I totally agree with you Bella and DiDi – there is so much to do and see in your own neighborhood. When tall person takes me around out neighborhood it’s like a vacation every time! :)

  3. Stay home and take no extra chores as Margarita said it’s a good option, order food, eat out, so you don’t have to do much cleaning, dishes are a pain even if you have a dishwasher. Day trips are also an option and often helpful to disconnect from the daily routine.

Talk to us! We're listening.

