Neil the St. Bernard: Do all dogs go to heaven?

Dear Paws to Talk,

Within the past year, I lost one of my good friends, Andy. He was an older dog who developed stomach cancer. By the time the vet diagnosed Andy with cancer, it was too late. The disease had infested his body.

I miss Andy a lot. Among other things, he taught me how to get what I want without being obnoxious, to be kind to everyone even if I don’t like them and how to properly train my humans. Andy was very wise.

One day, he was in my yard and a few days later he was gone. It is a hard concept to grasp. I wonder what happened to Andy after he died. Everyone always says that all dogs go to heaven. Is this true?

-Neil the St. Bernard

Howl Neil,

I am sorry about the loss of your friend, Andy. It sounds like he was a good companion and mentor.

You have asked the question that humans and animals have pondered for centuries. To begin with, not everyone believes in heaven or what the humans may call an afterlife. It is okay if you believe in heaven. Be sure to do some research and decide what type of belief system you may want to adopt for yourself.

No one knows what happens to someone after they die. It is my personal belief that there is a place like heaven with endless supplies of treats, no suffering and chew toys for miles. Also, I think that our loved ones who have passed away could be there. I hope so. I would love to see my brother, Marty and friend, Lilly again.

You can choose to believe what you want. If you feel like Andy is in heaven then go with that thought. Think of him cancer-free and playing fetch with angels. I hope this provides you with some comfort.

Life can be upsetting and difficult so sometimes it helps to envision a peaceful place where our deceased loved ones now reside. Maybe someday you will meet Andy again  and play fetch with the angels?

Woof,

Bella

23 thoughts on “Neil the St. Bernard: Do all dogs go to heaven?

  1. I’ve lost a few friends over the years. Canine cancer is a terrible thing to watch. One fuzkid left me while she was at the vet and the other, I had to make the decision. Neither was easy. I believe I will see them again. Hugs and sloppy puppy dog kisses from Colorado!

  2. Great reply guys – My Mum often thinks about her 2 Goldens playing with her human brother who also passed away……. 🙂

    A lot of things are as confusing to humans as they are to us Doggies – but Neil, I’m sure your buddy is watching over you and wants you to have lots of fun 🙂

    Big wags,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  3. This is a very difficult thing to answer but you have done very well. I just wanted to add that I felt like the world was ending when Nugget died suddenly. I like to think that, wherever he is, he watches over me. This was a great comfort to me while I grieved. You might like to imagine your friend watching over you too.

    Nibbles
    xxxx

  4. Bella and DiDi we lost our two big dogs last summer, a very sad time for us.. We believe they are playing chase and digging, pain free in Heaven! Thanks for your lovely post. Julia

  5. Dear Neil,
    We recently lost our barky thing a couple of months ago. One day I went to the back door to see her and the next day she was gone. Mom explained to me what happened but still sometimes I still don’t understand it. I like to think of her still looking over her kingdom in the backyard and watching over us, protecting us. It helps for me to look at pictures of her as well. Snout kisses

Talk to us! We're listening.

