Bo the Yellow Lab: I want more adventure in my life. What should I do?

Dear Paws to Talk,

I was watching TV the other day and saw a skateboarding dog. I observed with fascination as he went down hills and around corners.

After seeing this display of skill and extreme fun, I have decided that I want more adventure in my life. I love my walks, yard and playgroup but I think something is missing. I am a physically fit dog and would like to use all of my athleticism to do something exciting.

What should I do to satisfy my need for more adventure?

-Bo the Yellow Lab

Howl Bo,

I have seen that skateboarding bulldog and he is very talented. I think that it is wonderful that you want to have more adventures. For me, I get my thrills hopping over the stone wall and surveying the creek that is behind it. However, some dogs like to pursue other fun activities.

Before you attempt any of the suggestions I am about to give, make sure you are really fit. Set up an obstacle course in your yard and make sure you can complete it with ease. Be sure to stretch before and after. I would never forgive myself if I told you to try skydiving and you pulled a muscle.

Here are some activities you can do:

-Surfing: You’ll need a big board and a human to help you paddle. When you feel ready, stand up on the middle part of the board and ride the wave.

-Agility Competitions: Many canines participate in these events. They involve running and jumping with great speed and force. The winners usually get ribbons and a lot of treats which are additional perks.

-Take Your Human for a Ride: You can do this with a human on a bike or rollerblades. Have them put you on a leash (I know that statement sounds ridiculous but trust me on this one) and then get on their bike or strap on their skates. Next, pull with all of your might until both of you are moving. Let your human help you a bit by pedaling or skating lightly. This should be great fun and exercise.

I hope you spice up your daily routine with these activities. Just remember, that adventure is all around. It could be in the ocean or even in your own yard. You hold the ability to make your life all you want it to be.

Woof,

DiDi

20120603-113938.jpg

12 thoughts on “Bo the Yellow Lab: I want more adventure in my life. What should I do?

  1. We don’t think we could handle more adventure around our place…it is pretty active and exciting. Hugs and nose kisses

Talk to us! We're listening.

