Tucker the Chow Chow: How do I honor my grandfather?

 

Dear Paws to Talk,

My grandfather passed away a few months ago. I still miss him dearly. He used to give the best loves and neck rubs. When he visited my house, he would sit for at least an hour and just pet me. I was beside myself when I realized he had gone to heaven.

Not only was he a great companion who loved animals but was he was also a war veteran.   I heard my humans mentioning that today was a day of remembrance. I think about my grandfather often but want to find a nice way to honor him for all he did for me and others. Do you have any ideas?

-Tucker the Chow Chow

Howl Tucker,

We’re sorry about the loss of your grandfather. It sounds like he was a lovely person. You are a wonderful canine for wanting to do something special for him.

The best way to honor your grandfather is to act in a way that would make him proud. Help others. Be good. Appreciate your humans. Protect those who you love.

Another suggestion is to make a memorial in the yard for your grandfather. Select a special place. Then, pick out a good branch or pretty flower and plant it in the spot. This can be a nice place for you to sit and remember your grandfather.

We hope these actions will help you to give a proper tribute. You now carry his legacy so walk tall and give a lot of loves.

Woof,

Bella and DiDi

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

11 thoughts on “Tucker the Chow Chow: How do I honor my grandfather?

  1. Reblogged this on Paws to Talk and commented:

    Bella and DiDi: We answered this letter earlier in the year and find it appropriate as we honor our veterans. No matter what you believe, we hope there is time in your day to think about those who served.

    Woof,
    Bella and DiDi

  2. Great advice Bella and DiDi,

    Tucker can teach others to love just like his Grandfather did – I’m sure he’d love that 🙂

    Wags to all

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

Talk to us! We're listening.

