Rosie the Yoga Dog: What books should I read while recovering from surgery?

Rosie the Yoga Dog

Dear Paws to Talk,
I’m having surgery on my ACL this morning. It will be my second surgery in three months. How many ACLs does a dog have? I’ll be laid up for two or three weeks. Can you recommend any good books I can read during my recovery?

-Rosie the Yoga Dog

Howl Rosie,

We are so sorry you are undergoing surgery again. We looked up how many ACLs a dog has but couldn’t find a definite answer. So we estimate that we have four since we have four legs.

If you can’t do yoga or play in your yard then reading a book in bed can be quite satisfying. Here are our suggestions in no particular order:

Audition by Barbara Walters (This may seem like an odd choice but it’s actually an entertaining book.)

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald (Bella: I love this book. So classic. DiDi: I chewed on it after Bella read it. It could be a great book but I just felt like chewing instead of reading.)

Pumping Iron: The Art and Sport of Bodybuilding by William M. Gaines and Charles Gaines (There may be some good physical therapy tips in here.)

The Secret by Rhonda Byrne (We can’t tell you more about the book. It’s a secret. You may find it motivational.)

Those books ought to keep you entertained for a while. In the event that you don’t want to read all day we suggest the following:

-Chew on a good bone (Not a book)

-Collect loves from your humans

-Rotate positions on your bed

-See what is happening around your house

-Let your humans pamper you

-If your humans aren’t pampering you enough then raise your voice

We hope you have a speedy recovery!

Woof,

Bella and DiDi

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

16 thoughts on “Rosie the Yoga Dog: What books should I read while recovering from surgery?

    • DiDi: Monica I feel bad that my animal instincts kicked in and I chewed on an old copy of the Great Gatsby. There were a lot of scents on it that were hard to pass up. I hope Rosie recovers soon. Thanks for stopping by.

      *Kisses*

  1. Great book selection Bella & DiDi! We all wish you a speedy recovery Rosie, take lots of arnica!
    The Lonely Dogs & Kathryn

  2. Hey Rosie,

    I sure hope you get better soon buddy!! I can’t believe Hutchagoodlife have books read to them, I wish I got a bed time story when I get tucked into bed – doh!! 🙂

    Hope to hear you’re running around in no time,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

Talk to us! We're listening.

