Joy the Cat: I enjoy being alone. Is something wrong with me?

Dear Paws to Talk,

I live in a house with a bunch of humans and a dog. My home is very lively. Other humans are always stopping by and everyone loves to socialize. I like the company but I also like being alone.

When I am by myself in my own room (I have designated a fully furnished one as mine), I feel truly at peace. I close the door and stretch out. Sometimes I play with my toys but a lot of the time I hop up on the couch and sleep.

The other members of my family make fun of me for taking alone time. However, if I don’t get away from the group once in a while I start to feel restless. Is there anything wrong with being alone?

-Joy the Cat

Howl Joy,

We’re pleased that you wrote to us. It sounds like you have quite an outgoing family. Good for them.

There is nothing wrong with being alone. In fact, we think it shows great strength of character that you are comfortable being by yourself. A lot of times, humans and animals spend time with others because they are afraid of being alone. We admire your independence. You should hold your furry head high and walk around with pride.

Of course, there is nothing wrong with wanting the company of others, even if it is just to combat loneliness. It is fine, if the dog wants to invite over the whole neighborhood to play. This doesn’t mean that you have to partake in the game. Everybody has different preferences.

If you are lucky enough to live in a free country, have a roof over your head and not be in jail then you should do things that fulfill you.

Your family should be relieved that all your require to be happy is a little alone time. You could have a desire to collect diamonds and precious stones. Then they would really have something to squabble about.

The next time someone makes fun of you for going to your peaceful place, let them know their behavior is unacceptable. Hiss at them in a low to medium tone. Maybe they will pause for a moment and see you as the bold feline you are? We hope so.

Woof,

Bella and DiDi

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

20 thoughts on “Joy the Cat: I enjoy being alone. Is something wrong with me?

  1. Alone time is good. Can you believe my Henry often enjoys being alone? Even when I come home from work and go upstairs to do some computer work, Henry prefers to stay downstairs by himself, instead of hanging out with me!

  2. Hey Joy,

    You’ve got your own room? How cool is that!! I’d love that too, I go outside for my alone time – I usually get interrupted by a Squirrel, but it’s quieter than inside at least!!

    Have fun,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • Snoopy we admit that we are jealous that Joy has got her own room. We’ll have to write her and ask how she managed that. It is quite a feat!

      *Kisses*
      Bella and DiDi

  3. Whee are excited to read more of your great advise again!

    To the question at hand; there is nothing wrong with spending time alone. Nibbles does all the time when he gets grumpy. Whee recommend taking your ‘alone time’ at less noticable times, maybe your hoomans meal times or when the are watching the telebox. That way they will stop noticing it as much. Also the hissing may be a good idea seeing as you cannot do a menacing squeak like whee can!

    Nibbles, Nutty, Bingo & Buddy
    xxxx

Talk to us! We're listening.

