Bear the Collie: I hurt my paw and can’t do much. How do I feel less frustrated?

Dear Paws to Talk,

Last week, while playing in my yard, I injured one of my front paws. Accidentally, I stepped on a sharp stick and got a terrible cut. Since then, I have had to stay inside and recuperate. This is so bothersome because I love to frolic in my yard and participate in the neighborhood playgroup.

It is so hard to hear my friends outside having fun while I am stuck on the couch. Usually, I would do anything to be on the couch but this time I just want my paw to get better so I can resume a normal life. How do I feel less frustrated while I heal?

-Bear the Collie

 

Howl Bear,

We’re sorry to hear about your injury. When you are an active dog, it is difficult to suddenly change your daily routine.

A couple of years ago,  DiDi pulled a muscle in her back leg and went to therapy sessions to make it better. The therapist played New Age music while working to quell the inflammation. As she sat on the table receiving treatment, DiDi was fed Cheerios as a reward. DiDi’s leg got better and she acquired a taste for whole grain cereal. Are you undergoing similar regimen?

While your paw is hurting, we suggest you focus on what you can do instead of all the outdoor fun you might be missing. Use this time to savor relaxation on your couch. Spend some extra time with the humans. See if you can find a yummy snack in the house. Make good use of this time. It will be gone before you know it.

Your injury may be the universe’s way of telling you to slow down and enjoy other aspects of your life. Besides play group and running around the yard, there must be additional things that make you happy. What are they?

Be sure to take care of your wound. Keep it clean and do the recommended treatment (Hopefully, some Cheerios are involved).  Every species gets injured or has setbacks in life. You’re defined by how you handle them. Don’t wallow in self-pity. You will be frolicking again soon.

Woof,

Bella and DiDi

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

18 thoughts on “Bear the Collie: I hurt my paw and can’t do much. How do I feel less frustrated?

  1. Hi Bear (Great name, by the way) 🙂

    Whilst Bella and DiDi’s advice is, of course, very sensible – I have another idea that I’d like to put forward…..

    Mischief!! There’s always lots of Mischief to be had indoors, I find plenty of things to do, whether it’s doing the toilet paper trail, stealing slippers or socks, the list can go on forever….. needless to say time will fly and you’ll also have lots of fun!! Tee Hee

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  2. I’m passing on some blogging awards to you before I go into a much needed long term hibernation. I’m still working on the post … will post by [sometime] tonight. So don’t forget to check it out. 😉
    I’ll still lurk about the blogosphere to keep up, but won’t have a lot of extra time for a couple of months. I love reading your posts. 😉 Best of luck 😀

    • Ann,

      Thank you so much! We are honored! *Tails wagging* We enjoy your blog as well. We hope you have a good hibernation although we’ll miss you. Thanks!

      Bella and DiDi

Talk to us! We're listening.

