Leigh the Human: Should I go to college?

DiDi looking at the bookshelf contemplating higher education

Dear Paws to Talk,

I am 18 years old and set to graduate from high school next month. I am very unsure about my future after graduation day. A few months ago, I applied to a couple of colleges and was accepted to one.

By the end of this week, I have to let the college know if I will attend. I am not sure if I want to go to college. Getting my high school degree has been challenging and the idea of more school doesn’t seem appealing. Also, I will have to take out a couple of loans if I go to college. I worry about being in so much debt.

I want to have a successful career. I believe I can start that now instead of waiting four years. However, I don’t want to regret the opportunity to get a higher education.

Should I go to college?

-Leigh the Human

Howl Leigh the Human,

We admit that you have quite a dilemma but you can’t make a wrong decision. If you choose one path and then want to change directions, you can do it. We do this all the time on our walks. A juicy scent seems to be straight ahead but then we smell that it is off to the left a bit. No problem. We just lead our humans to the left.

Both of our human sisters went to college but we didn’t. All of us are successful in our own ways. While college seems very beneficial, it may not be necessary for everyone.

We suggest putting all of your worries aside and thinking about what you really want to do. You may even want to put a paw to paper and write your feelings down. Don’t let your high school experience or the potential debt influence you. Think about your options but don’t drive yourself crazy.

We think if you go to college you will meet new friends and learn very significant things. If you skip college and start on your career path, you may put yourself years ahead of your peers. Both situations will require hard work.

It is difficult making important decisions. No matter what you choose, you are starting a new chapter of your life.

Keep us posted. If you get a chance, send us your graduation photos.

Woof,

Bella and DiDi

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

18 thoughts on “Leigh the Human: Should I go to college?

  1. Hmm, book smarts versus street smarts… Wouldn’t it be great if we could have the best of both worlds? Miss Maple would like to believe she has it all because Poodles are supposedly known for their intellect and go-getter enthusiasm. 😉

  2. Very good advice. Sometimes it is better to wait for college until you know what you want to study. Also there is community college which can be less expensive than formal college and people can and do work while attending.

  3. What a dilemma!! One I was lucky enough to avoid as I didn’t have the option to go to Doggie College, however, I always knew I’d love to be a Therapy Dog and since I was a pup my parents helped me learn the skills I would need, it was a lot of hard work for 2 years and I even had a test at the end, but it was worth it – I LOVE my role!!

    That’s the key, working out what makes you happy and following the path to that happiness whilst having fun along the way, whether it involves college or learning the skills in a different way – good luck on your new adventures in life! 🙂

    Have fun Leigh,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • Snoopy! Thanks for stopping by and sharing your story. You are so right in that Leigh has to enjoy what she does. We bet you make a great Therapy Dog! Have a good day. Talk to you soon.

Talk to us! We're listening.

