Casey the Schnauzer: Is it okay to be silly?

Dear Paws to Talk,

I am a gregarious canine. Each day, I try to have as much fun as possible. This includes jokes, long play sessions and lots of laughs. Some of my friends call me goofy but I’m just living life to the fullest.

Recently, my humans took me to obedience school. This was a shock to my system. Now, at least once a week, I have to practice sitting and speaking on command among other things. Are they trying to change my personality? Is it okay to be silly?

-Casey the Schnauzer

Howl Casey,

Given that I am the silliest member of my family (including the humans), Bella and I agreed I should answer this letter.

I tend to make funny faces a lot. My family laughs at my looks but all I am trying to do is contemplate important world issues. Sometimes you can be silly without realizing it.

Then there are times when silliness is the only thing on the agenda. For example, when I execute one of my heart-stopping sneak attacks on Bella. I usually hide behind a bush and then leap out in front of her as she walks by. She gets too tense.This maneuver usually solves the problem.

It is refreshing to be silly. Life is too boring without jokes, gaffes and laughs. However, learning some obedience is important too. Not all species have the sense of humor that you do. There may be times where a canine who can sit on command is greatly appreciated.

It seems like your humans are making sure you have all the social skills you may need in life. Just because you are learning some etiquette doesn’t mean you have to change your personality. Be who you are but also have an open mind while you are in obedience school.

Please write back with some good jokes I can use on Bella.

Woof,

DiDi

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

16 thoughts on “Casey the Schnauzer: Is it okay to be silly?

  1. Hi Bella and Didi!

    Since I’m half schnauzer, I really took this entry to heart! Sometimes I can be silly, too, so reading a fellow schnauzer’s concerns made me feel better about my own. Though I’ve never been to obedience school, I still try to pay extra close attention to following directions…so that I can get a treat-reward! Sometimes I’m not perfect, but my humans love me all the same!

    Good luck to Casey! I hope he writes back in to let us know how his schooling went!

    Your friend,
    Ralphie

    -Ralphie

    • Hi Ralphie,

      Thanks for your comment! It is good that you listen to directions. We hope you get lots of treats for that. We think it is ok to be silly every now and again too. We hope Casey writes back soon to give us an update. Have a good rest of the weekend!

      Bella and DiDi

  2. Hey Casey,

    That’s a great question buddy – and for what it’s worth I agree with DiDi – keep up the silliness, I think the Doggies AND humans will appreciate it at obedience class, cos I think it can get a bit dull if everyone’s just behaving, they may not admit it, but I’m sure they’re laughing inside!! Tee Hee

    Have fun,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • Hi Snoopy,

      Thanks for stopping by! We’re sure Casey could make those obedience classes a lot more interesting! We agree that even though humans may be firm on the outside, they are laughing on the inside. I’ll let you know when Casey sends me some new jokes.

      DiDi

  3. DiDi, I think you gave Casey the best advice ever! Life is too short to not be silly every now and then! Good for you for explaining the importance of social skills as well and the beauty of a life filled with laughter. I hope Casey sends you some good jokes you can play on Bella! 🙂

  4. Everyone likes to blow off a bit of steam every once in while Casey but being permanently goofy could mean that are not taken seriously. Do you always want to be the clown? DiDi has given you some very good advice.

  5. Didi – though you are a funny girl you give wonderful advice! Looks like you know how to balance being a prankster and being an advisor. Good work!

    • Madeleine,

      Thanks for your comment. I work hard to keep a balance but sometimes the prankster side wins out 🙂 Thankfully, I have a great mommy who keeps me in check.

      DiDi

Talk to us! We're listening.

