Dakota the Weimaraner: Should I snap back?

Dear Paws to Talk,

I was in the dog park the other day and another dog nipped my ankle. I was shocked. My humans tend to favor a non-violent lifestyle so I have never been in a scrape with anyone. After getting home, I became very angry. Plots of getting back at this dog began to run through my mind. Should I nip him the next time I see him?

-Dakota the Weimaraner

Howl Dakota,

Don’t nip this other dog the next time you see him. This will not make things better. If you bite back then things will turn even messier especially between his humans and your humans.

Occasionally, one of us will go too far and nip the other (It’s not always easy being sisters). A nip in return is the usual reaction. This always ends with both of us sulking in our beds. Snapping, nipping or biting are not a good ways to communicate or solve problems.

Trust us, when you strut around the dog park practicing the non-violence your humansΒ  instilled in you, the guilt this dog is going to feel will be punishment enough.

Do your thing at the dog park and try not to focus on him. Have fun with the other dogs, breathe in the fresh air and take care of your business. You will be at peace with yourself in the end that you didn’t escalate the situation. If he keeps nipping then start a petition to have him play in a different park. Stay calm and good luck.

Woof,

Bella and DiDi

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Β© Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

18 thoughts on “Dakota the Weimaraner: Should I snap back?

  1. I’m no expert but I think dogs bite or nip because the dog thinks it is of a higher rank. A dog is unlikely to bite or nip a leader. Perhaps Dakota needs to be more confident and assertive and act like a leader.

  2. Hey Dakota,

    I think Bella and DiDi are so right buddy – you did the best thing, you took the higher ground – if a Doggie isn’t nice to me, I just ignore them, I’m only interested in nice Doggies πŸ™‚

    Have fun at the park,

    Your pal Snoopy πŸ™‚

  3. I read this every day to my dog Kane, unlike you he can’t read, (yet!). He always wags his tail, because he knows that straight after this, we go for a walk. Keep up the good work.

    • Sandy,

      Thanks so much. We’re glad you and Kane like it. We always wag our tails when a walk is coming. We so appreciate you for reading! Talk to you soon.

      Bella and DiDi

  4. I so enjoy reading your post and look forward to what is going to be written next, I have to agree with appliedalliance, Didi and Bella this is the best advice given to doggies and humans. We could learn a lot from our best friend. πŸ™‚

Talk to us! We're listening.

