Simba the Siberian Cat: How do you know if you’re talented?

Dear Paws to Talk,

Recently, I was watching the big bright thing with my humans and there was a cat on a talent show playing the piano. Then during this same show another cat demonstrated how she could contort herself into a little ball. I thought these cats must be really gifted to be on this show.

It made me reflect on my special abilities. My humans have always said I have the most beautiful purr. Also, I am great at climbing trees. I can pick the highest one in my yard and climb all the way to the top. However, I am not on the big bright thing or on a world tour giving out tons of my paw prints. How do I know if I am talented?

-Simba the Siberian Cat

Howl Simba,

Just because you aren’t on the big bright thing doesn’t mean you lack talent. Cats, dogs and humans all have various talents. This makes our world an interesting place. I would say I am a very talented hole-digger and kitchen taste-tester. However, my talents are not diminished because I don’t have a show on the big bright thing showing me working on a construction site or in a kitchen giving opinions on recipes. I believe in my talent.

When you know what your talent is, the worst thing you can do is waste it. If you have a beautiful purr then purr more. Maybe your humans can help you record album?

If you are great at climbing the highest tree in your yard then climb everyday. Use those powerful paws. I bet there is a taller tree nearby that you can conquer.

Use your talents and enjoy them for yourself. However, you never know when some television producer might want to showcase a signing cat that can climb tall trees.

Woof,

DiDi

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

23 thoughts on “Simba the Siberian Cat: How do you know if you’re talented?

  1. Simba, I asked the tall person about this and he told me that everything living thing shares the greatest talent of all – life. Everything alive today is here because each of its ancestors overcome huge challenges to stay alive and pass on their genes. You are special because of this.

  2. Great advice as always 🙂

    I’m certainly no Cat expert and I’m working on my Cat-Dog relations, however, I think talent is talent whatever your species – if it makes you or someone else happy then it’s all good…. 🙂

    Have fun Simba,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping by Snoopy. You are very mature to work on your Cat-Dog relations! We have had to do the same thing. Who knows, maybe Simba will put out an album that you will enjoy? 🙂

  3. It’s true, everyone has a hidden talent. Miss Maple’s talent is looking cute, and she doesn’t have to try very hard… apparently, it just comes naturally. And she always gets awarded with belly rubs for showing it off. 😀

Talk to us! We're listening.

