Annie the Boston Terrier: How do I feel love?

Dear Paws to Talk,

I am a 6-month-old puppy currently staying in a shelter. I am feel lucky to be off the streets and in a healthy environment.

The other day, one of my shelter neighbors was talking about how much she loves some humans who are set to adopt her. She said that she feels so loved by them.

I couldn’t relate to what she was saying. I have never felt love before. Maybe it has to do with the fact that I was abandoned when I was only a few weeks old? I haven’t met anyone yet that I love. How do you feel love?

-Annie

Howl Annie,

We are sorry that you were abandoned so early in your life. It is a relief to know that you are at a caring shelter for the time being. Given what you have been through, it makes sense you would have questions about love.

In our opinion, love is the best thing in the world. You don’t have to work in order to feel love. It will just happen. When it does, you may feel tingly with excitement or you may want to cry. Any reaction is fine.

The best part about love is that you can feel it with humans who care for you, a canine who catches your eye or good friends. Yes, you can even love a cat.

You are so deserving of love. It is coming your way. Enjoy the feeling! We hope you swell with so much love that your collar busts.

Woof,

Bella and DiDi

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

10 thoughts on “Annie the Boston Terrier: How do I feel love?

  1. Aw. I hate the thought of anyone, ever feeling sad and especially alone… breaks my heart. So sad, but as always such good advice. 😉

Talk to us! We're listening.

