Martha the Human: How do I start a new chapter in my life?

Dear Paws to Talk,

I am at a crossroads in my life. I was in a bad marriage that I ended a few months ago. Since then, I have moved into a new home and am adjusting to living alone. However, I feel stuck in a holding pattern. I am glad to be out of my marriage but miss having a special someone in my life. How do I start my a new life?

-Martha the Human

Howl Martha,

I have never been married (Although, I have gotten a couple of engagement bones…that’s another story) but have had to start a new chapter in my life. When I was about 10-weeks-old, I moved to my current home. Immediately I felt lost and lonely. I had been with Lindie, my mother dog ever since I entered the world. I kept waiting for Lindie to come back for me. I would even howl at night for her. Each morning, I would jump out of my crate and hope to see Lindie.

Then one day my brother Marty (he’s in heaven now) started barking in my ear. He was promised a companion and I was disappointing him because I couldn’t let go of Lindie. He was right. From that point on, I slowly let go my old life and began to enjoy my new big brother and wonderful humans.

Sometimes, all you need to do to start a new chapter is pick up a pen and start writing. It seems like you are starting to do that. Even though you feel like you are in a holding pattern, you are moving forward because you left a less than ideal situation. This may not be the most exciting chapter in the story of your life but it is definitely a new one. Make the most out the life you have now. Enjoy your house. Spend time with friends. Keep your eyes peeled for any new crushes. Who knows the right human could be around the corner with your engagement bone?

Good luck!

Woof,

Bella

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ยฉ Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blogโ€™s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

20 thoughts on “Martha the Human: How do I start a new chapter in my life?

  1. Bella,

    You are just so wise buddy – you know how to tackle everything – and you’re right, you never know when an engagement bone might be just around the corner waiting for youโ€ฆ. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Wags to all,

    Your pal Snoopy ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Aw I absolutely love this one ๐Ÿ˜‰ Excellent advice to so many going thru the same thing at this very moment. ๐Ÿ˜€ Love the thought of an engagement bone ๐Ÿ˜‰

Talk to us! We're listening.

