Adonis the Samoyed: How do I make a career change?

Dear Paws to Talk,

I am thinking of a career change. When I came to my humans house a couple of years ago, I started carrying firewood from the wooded area to the front door. The humans appreciated this because they have some kind of wood-burning stove. I like to make myself useful and am ambitious.

However, after years of hauling firewood as my main job, I would like to do something different with my days. I am not getting the same enjoyment I once did providing kindling for my humans’ meals and warmth.ย I have a good work ethic and like being outdoors. How do I change my career?

-Adonis the Samoyed

Howl Adonis,

You must be so strong after carrying all of that firewood. Beyond digging holes, we’re not good at manual labor so we admire your skill.

It is very important to enjoy your job. You are smarter than most beings because you want to like what you do. So many humans and animals meander through life having a career they aren’t passionate about. This is why we decided to blog instead of modeling doggie couture among other things.

Do you have any ideas as to what you would like to do instead of hauling wood? If not, then we suggest sitting in your house when the humans are gone and contemplating it. What would make you happy? What fills your heart (the thing that sits below your collar) with happiness? Only you know the answer to this.

It is okay if you don’t figure it out in one day. Sometimes it takes a little while to realize what one’s passion is.

Also, don’t be afraid to try something out of your comfort zone. Given what we know about your breed, maybe you would enjoy being a sled dog? You might like the camaraderie with the other canines while working. See if there is a pack you can join.

You are on the right path. Until you find your ultimate career, you might have to keep hauling wood. You have to earn treats somehow. Don’t be deterred. Your passion is out there. Good luck.

Woof,

Bella and DiDi

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ยฉ Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blogโ€™s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

20 thoughts on “Adonis the Samoyed: How do I make a career change?

  1. We think that is excellent advice for both humans and dogs. Chancy loves his work…he keeps the yard cleared of roots and sticks. He does a super job too! Hugs and nose kisses

  2. If Adonis becomes a sled dog, I hope he becomes the lead sled dog. Because for all the other dogs on the team the view ahead looks exactly the same. ;-D1 (Couldn’t help myself!) I enjoy your blog, you cute pair of dogs!

    Duke of Cadbury (Chocolate Lab)

  3. Hey Adonis,

    I hope you find your true calling soon buddy – have you considered modeling, your breed are pretty handsome from what I’ve seen – just a thought and I think the pay is good!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Have fun,

    Your pal Snoopy ๐Ÿ™‚

Talk to us! We're listening.

