Gil the Old English Sheepdog: Why are my humans leaving? What should I do?

Dear Paws to Talk,

Help! My humans have pulled their square wheely things out of the closets and are putting clothes in them. My blood pressure is rising. Whenever they do this they leave me. I like to keep close tabs on my humans and hate when they go way. I jump into a square wheely thing to ensure that I am going along but they always kick me out of the square wheely thing. Why do they have to leave me? What should I do?

-Gil the Old English Sheepdog

Howl Gil,

Take some deep breaths. We hate it when our humans take the square wheely things out of their closets. When this happens, DiDi immediately claims her place in one of them before anyone can pack an object. Our daddy will ask her to get out but then she refuses to move in protest.

I prefer to go into the corner and be somber. Then when the humans are about to leave I shun them. I don’t like to hide my feelings.

You should find your own way to react to this change in your daily life. If you want to cry. Cry. If you want to run around the house like a manic because you’re blood is boiling with anger. Do it.

Humans like to go on vacations and trips that sometimes require them to bring out the square wheely things. It is hard to contemplate why they wouldn’t take us with them. I think they usually leave us behind when an airplane is involved. However, I think I could be a good airplane passenger. I would sit upright in my seat, wear my seatbelt, enjoy the view and complimentary snacks.

It is difficult for us when our humans leave on their own journeys but remember that they always come back from these trips. Nonetheless, I understand your anxiety.

I suggest taking your mind off your humans while they are gone. Hopefully, they don’t send you to a doggie hotel and you can be in your own house. Take this time to survey the house for any toys and kibble you may have dropped in your daily haste. It is a good time to get things in order.

I suspect you feel lonely when your humans are gone. It doesn’t have to be that way. Howl to your friends and invite them over for a play session. Take this time to focus on you. Maybe your dog sitter knows how to give a good doggie massage? Make an appointment.

Enjoy freedom in your house. Your humans will be back before you know it.

Woof,

Bella

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Β© Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

25 thoughts on “Gil the Old English Sheepdog: Why are my humans leaving? What should I do?

  1. Reblogged this on Paws to Talk and commented:

    Howl,
    One of our humans, is traveling to Blog Paws tomorrow WITHOUT us! Isn’t there something wrong with this picture? Since, the wheeling thing is out of the closet, we felt like sharing this post again. She better bring back some fabulous swag bags!
    Bella and DiDi

  2. Hi Gil,

    I’m sure your humans feel terrible about leaving you, so no doubt you’ll end up with a new toy and extra big belly rubs when they come back.

    But in the meantime I’d definitely take up Bella’s advice and scout for food while you’re home alone. My humans often hide treats for me when they go to work, so perhaps yours have done the same?

    lots of doggie kisses,
    Misaki

  3. Oh Gil,

    You have my sympathy buddy, it happens to me too and like you I also work out when they’re about to do it – but Bella is right, they always come back!!

    I’m lucky as most times they do it I go to my family no. 2 next door where my buddy Cosmo leaves, it’s always good to have a back-up family for these occasions!! Makes your humans realize you are gonna be just fine without them, I think that may even make mine come back sooner as they might worry I won’t wanna come back? – Tee Hee

    It was cool to read you’re and Old English Sheepdog – I’ve never met one, but I get mistaken for one all the time as I’m a Beardie – I wonder if you get mistaken for a Beardie?

    Wags to you,

    Your pal Snoopy πŸ™‚

    • Hi Snoopy,

      Bella thought I should reply to you myself. Thanks for sharing your story and giving me such great advice. I’m glad your buddy Cosmo lives so close. You two must have a lot of fun.

      I could see how humans would mistake you for a Sheepdog. I haven’t been mistaken for a Beardie but you never know. We do look alike.

      Gil

  4. Gil, we know how you feel. To tell the truth, we actually get a bit excited when our humans go away because they take us to this wonderful doggie place while they are away and we like it there a lot. Of course we miss them and we make sure to have a good sulk for at least a day upon their return.

    Slobbers,

    Finn & Kai

    • Thanks for the comment Finn & Kai! It sounds like you get to have a bit of a vacation too while your humans are away. Of course there seems to be no way to avoid missing the humans which is ok.
      Bella

  5. Gil, My dog, Henry, and I feel your pain. Unbeknownst to him, I will soon be taking a long vacation and he will be left in the charge of his valet. I hope he doesn’t miss me too much. πŸ˜‰

  6. Bella, it doesn’t matter how many times I read your advice to your furry friends, I’m always impressed with your wisdom! I can understand how Gil would be upset that the humans are taking out the square things with wheels. It’s no fun being left behind, but you’ve given him suggestions on what to do to pass away the time and I think this will help him cope better with their absence. I always take my furry friend Roxy with me when I travel. By car, train, bus, plane, tram, and even bike, little Roxy goes with me. She’s an excellent passenger and when we travel to Spain in the summer, she falls asleep in her Sherpa carrier. Great advice, Bella, and good for Didi for making her point known! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks for such a wonderful comment! We try to do our best when helping others! Roxy is very lucky you take him everywhere! We hope Gil makes it through his time without his humans. Thanks for reading!

      Woof,
      Bella and DiDi

Talk to us! We're listening.

