Periwinkle the Pit Bull: Why do humans avoid me?

                                              Periwinkle courtesy of Ruff Mutts Cooperative

Dear Paws to Talk,

I’ve been following your blog with my human for about a month now. Because you seem to have a savvy insight into the human world and since Poodles are known for their dashing good looks, I was hoping you may be able to answer a question I have regarding my appearance.

Most dogs love to play with me and never seem to give my blue coat and cheek-to-cheek grin a second thought. In fact, kittens, horses, goats, cows, and any other non-humans  like me too. However, sometimes when I walk down the street, humans seem to turn and run the other way. I don’t remember being mean or doing anything wrong to anyone. Why do people cross the street when they see me? Is it something about my look?

Periwinkle the Pit Bull

Howl Periwinkle,

Thank so much for reading our blog and writing in! We can’t disagree with your comment about our dashing good looks. Anyways, moving on.

It makes us sad to hear that some humans avoid you. We doubt it has anything to do with your look or behavior. You’re smile and blue coat are unique assets. You have to start to believe that and embrace it. We love you’re blue coat! It is so much more interesting than these black things we walk around in.

Sometimes Pit Bulls get stereotyped as violent and out of control canines. This is an unfair assumption about the breed especially when a dog is properly trained and given a lot of love such as yourself. These humans who are avoiding you in public may buy into this stereotype. It is unfortunate for them because they are missing out on your smile and friendly spirit.

We recommend that you focus on the lovely humans and animals who accept you for you. The world is full of all types of animals and humans. Not everyone is always going to like you. This is not a reflection on you.

Keep smiling and showing off that coat.

Woof,

Bella and DiDi

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

25 thoughts on “Periwinkle the Pit Bull: Why do humans avoid me?

  1. Bella and DiDi you really nailed this one and how unfortunate for this wonderful breed that they have been so stereotyped and misunderstood all because of some irresponsible and reckless people. So sad 😦

    Periwinkle if I saw you I would never go the other way in fact you may have trouble getting rid of me 😉 Just remember you are beautiful!

  2. Hey Periwinkle,

    I’m so sorry to hear of your predicament buddy – I would be honored to have the privilege of playing with you – I love your coat!! I’m a Blue just like you, but a bit on the fluffy side…..

    Sending you big wags and hope that the humans realize what they’re missing 🙂

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  3. Reblogged this on Paws to Talk and commented:

    Howl,
    Because of the life and death matter Lennox the Dog is facing in Belfast, we felt a need to reblog this post. People don’t like being judged by their looks or heritage and neither do dogs. We all deserve a chance to show our true character.
    Woof,
    Bella and DiDi

  4. This is so encourging. Good work, Bella and DiDi!
    Or maybe those who avoid cute Periwinkle are just afraid of any kind of dogs.

    And Periwinkle, if this makes you feel better, many of my friends prefer to dogs like your type than Maltese!
    So it’s true that this world is full of all kinds of humans/animals. You just keep being you!

  5. Good advice Bella and DiDi. I am the exact opposite – will cross the street to see and pat (with owners permission of course) a dog regardless of size, shape and colour. Periwinkle, you are beautiful and I would love to say hello, sadly too many have bought into the hysteria and fear surrounding your breed without understanding dogs at all.

  6. This is a difficult issue Periwinkle and one in which I have some experience. I am a Caucasian Shepherd Dog living in the Republic of Georgia. My breed is still used to guard livestock from wolves and bears. We have a reputation for being fierce. We are also large. When I go for walks in the neighborhood people often cross the street to avoid me or turn around and walk fast or even run away. Their reaction hurts but I do understand and the tall person has taught me not to react. I suppose the only way to address this is to always be friendly – it may not overcome the problem of stereotype but at least it means you are a good ambassador for your breed.

  7. I have to admit, Periwinkle is such a beautiful dog but the stereotype of pit bulls has frightened some humans including me but seeing how happy and friendly you looked I would’ve definitely touched you. I’m so sorry you are saddened about being avoided. Hang in there Periwinkle.

  8. Great advice! And blue is such a nice color! My parents used to have a Kerry blue terrier, and I thought it was so cool bragging at school that our dog is BLUE! To be honest, she was actually more blackish, so Periwinkle should be proud to be so unique 🙂 At the same time I do have to admit there are a lot of people out there with misconceptions about Pit Bulls, but it’s good to have dogs like Periwinkle to set the record straight.

Talk to us! We're listening.

