Jasper the Abyssinian Cat: I have no fear but my humans do.

Dear Paws to Talk,

I like a good adventure. It think it is fun to jump from the top of the kitchen cabinets to the floor, climb trees in my yard and walk all over electrical appliances. I always land on my feet and still have all my hair. I am not afraid to do these things and try some new challenges.

However, my humans panic every time they see me in the middle of a feat. They scream my name and try to stop me.

Should listen to my humans or continue my tricks around the house?

-Jasper the Abyssinian Cat

Howl Jasper,

It seems like you are a very talented athlete. I wish I could see you in action. I was supposed to be an agility dog but I didn’t qualify for any competitions. Oh well.

Your humans worry about you getting hurt when you are in the middle of an adventure. That is why they try to stop you. They probably envision a large vet bill when they see you jumping off of the refrigerator. It seems like this vet requires a lot of treats in order to care for us.

Just because your humans worry doesn’t mean you have to. If you like being bold and adventurous don’t let fear get in your way. Be sure to give your humans extra cuddle time to ease their nerves.

Let me know if you ever go skydiving. I’d like to hear about that.

Woof,

DiDi

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Β© Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

17 thoughts on “Jasper the Abyssinian Cat: I have no fear but my humans do.

  1. I am the same with my kitten. He is very adventurous and I do worry, especially as he is new to the world but tall person said that we must not be overprotective. I still worry though.

  2. Great advice as always guys πŸ™‚

    And I thought I was adventurous but Jasper is amazing!! Probably just as well you’ve got 9 lives though buddy, maybe you should remind your parents of that too? πŸ™‚

    Have fun,

    Your pal Snoopy πŸ™‚

    • Hi Snoopy,

      Thanks for reading. Yeah Jasper seems to be quite the dare devil. Just as long as he keeps landing on his feet, he should continue on his adventures. πŸ™‚

      Bella and DiDi

  3. Hi Jasper, Possibly less adventuring when they can see you will keep everyone happy. But then I had an aweful thought about you adventuring when no one is home and getting hurt. So… I don’t know what to say.

    • Thanks for commenting Finn! I think you either embrace the adventure and don”t worry about something going wrong or maybe seek out less thrill-seeking activities which make you happy.

      DiDi

Talk to us! We're listening.

