Phyllis the Standard Poodle: How do I accept someone who is different?

Dear Paws to Talk,

I am a 5 year-old female Standard poodle. Shockingly, a few weeks ago my humans brought another breed into our house. He is a Corgi.  At first I thought he was just visiting but now it seems like he is staying. He is much shorter than me. His coat is all different colors and falls out all over the place. I have Corgi fur in my food and water bowls. Yuck!

I like to run laps in the yard. He likes to twirl around. I sit up tall like a statue for my humans. He collapses on the floor.

Am I supposed to like this different breed?

-Phyllis the Standard Poodle

Howl Phyllis,

Our world is full of all kinds of breeds. So the Corgi is not like you. That is okay because it makes you special. It also means that he is unique too.

One time our humans brought a small Dachshund named Tiki over to our house. We weren’t sure what to do with him. Bella accidentally stepped on him going to the food dish.

We stayed in our separate corners until he picked up our ball. Tiki liked to play ball!

He would roll it along the ground and we would retrieve it. It worked out well for all of us. Tiki was very different but we put that aside. The time he spent in our house was a lot of fun.

See if this Corgi has more to him than twirling. You probably have more to you than running laps and sitting like a perfect statue.

Woof,

Bella and DiDi

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

12 thoughts on “Phyllis the Standard Poodle: How do I accept someone who is different?

  1. Try thinking about similarities instead of differences. There are probably lots of things that you both do that are the same and lots of things you both like. In life, it is better to look for similarities rather than differences.

  2. This made me chuckle 🙂

    It’s tough isn’t it getting used to something different – I had a new friend Casper (part Poodle, part Terrier) come to stay for a week, I thought he was staying for good – he was very different to me, but I realized he was actually fun to have around, he brought a cool toy too, but I digress – when he left I was sad to see him go…..

    Now if a CAT came to stay I really don’t know how I’d adjust to that….. 🙂

    Have a fun weekend,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • Snoopy,

      It is hard adjusting to a new being in your house around your kibble bowl. However, it can be a good situation like with your friend Casper. You never know who the humans might bring home. We agree a cat would take a lot of getting used to. Thanks for the comment 🙂
      Bella and DiDi

  3. Bella & DiDi, You are very wise for your years. Since we live in a house full of 7 different breeds & personalities, not including the humans, we have learned that accepting, or at least tolerating, the difference, makes the world a calmer more peaceful place. – Lulu Belle (Hound/Lab) & Sofie Bear (Sheltie/Corgi) of DogDaz

Talk to us! We're listening.

