Camomile the Siamese Cat: Why can’t I sleep in my human’s bed?

Dear Paws to Talk,

One of my favorite things to do is to cuddle with my daddy. I love to sleep on his chest at night. I have done this a few times and it was so comfy. Lately, when it is bedtime, I hop up on the bed and get settled on his chest. Just as I am about to doze off, he quietly moves me to the floor. Dumbfounded, I collect myself and then jump up on the bed and nuzzle onto his chest again. This usually ends in me landing back on the floor.

How do I get my favorite cuddle position back?

-Camomile the Siamese Cat

Howl Camomile,

I hate being kicked out of bed after getting into a good cuddle position. You might as well take my kibble away from me while I am starving.  I can sympathize with you.

Has anything changed in your daddy’s life lately? Is he sleeping differently?

If he is trying a new way of sleeping maybe that is why he is kicking you off. Of course, it could be that he let you on the bed a couple of times and has decided that he doesn’t want it to be a habit.  He may be trying to train you.

I wish I could sleep on my mommy but I don’t think she would appreciate such a heavy blanket. Sometimes, we can’t always get exactly what we want.

I suggest trying to see if your daddy is comfortable with you sleeping at the edge of the bed on top of his feet. That way you can still cuddle. If he doesn’t want you on the bed at all, then find the next best place in the house that you would like to sleep. You will get used to it after a few nights. Be sure to make the most out of cuddle time during the day so you don’t feel lonely at night.

Woof,

Bella

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

6 thoughts on “Camomile the Siamese Cat: Why can’t I sleep in my human’s bed?

  1. I used to let my kitty sleep on the bed with me at night. Then he started being a bit obnoxious, poking my eyelids with his cold nose to wake me up at unseemly hours, attacking my hands or my feet, etc. He ended up deciding that my bowl chair was an okay substitute and would cuddle during the day instead.

    • Thanks for the comment! Yes, animals and humans in the same bed isn’t always the best idea. When one of us tries to sneak into bed with our humans, we usually get our paws accidentally rolled on. Ouch! Cuddle time is still very important though. 🙂

      Bella and DiDi

Talk to us! We're listening.

