A Human: How do I feel less lonely?

Dear Paws to Talk,

A couple of months ago, I graduated from college and moved a few hours away from my family to take a job. I am happy to be chasing my dream with this new job but I am lonely in my new place. I especially miss our family dog, Leo. I think I am doing the right thing by pursuing my career but I miss the people and dog I love most. How do I feel less lonely?

-A Human

Dear Human,

Congratulations on finishing school and following your dreams. Your family must be very proud of you. We know Leo is proud even though we are sure he misses you.

A couple of years ago, one of our humans moved away after graduating from college. It was an adjustment for everyone. Bella adjusted by playing ball non-stop. DiDi adjusted by sitting in the yard and planting her face in the garden dirt.

Nothing will ever replace the history you have with your family so it is normal to feel lonely. We recommend trying to make your life away from home as happy as possible. You need another quality human or two to lean on, talk to and have fun with. Make sure your house and yard are comfortable and well-kept (Leo should have a good place to play when he visits). Get out and see things in your new area. Reward yourself with some treats every once in a while.

Maybe you could get your own dog? We suggest talking to Leo first before doing this since he is the official family dog. You don’t want to step on his paws.

If the loneliness is still too much then you have to decide if your new life is worth being away from your family. This may take a little time. No one ever said it was easy to make your own trail. Good luck!

Woof,

Bella and DiDi


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

10 thoughts on “A Human: How do I feel less lonely?

  1. Bella and Didi, I loved the advice you gave this human! How insightful! Indeed it is quite difficult to “make your own trail.” Transition can be quite difficult. Nevertheless, I think life gets easier with time and with wise counsel like the one you provided! 🙂

    • Thanks for your comment Bella! We hope this human can find a balance in making her own life and being with her family. We are glad you stopped by our site! We like your name too!

  2. Another interesting problem Bella and DiDi. I am sure the human found your advice very helpful, especially regarding making new friends. If the human does want another dog I would suggest that this is very carefully considered, especially if he or she is working and away from home all day and the dog would be alone for much time.

    • Thanks for the comment Bassas. Yes, getting a dog is only a good idea if you have the time. We require a lot of love, care and attention. We are lucky because we get to do our jobs and be close to our family.
      Bella and DiDi

Talk to us! We're listening.

