Moose the French Bulldog: How do I get over my fear?

Dear Paws to Talk,

When I was a pup, I was in the car when my humans got into a car accident. I got a scrape on my paw. Ever since then I try not to go in the car. I hate it. I’m get very scared. My humans force me to go into the car for haircuts and vet appointments and I sit on the floor shrieking.

How do I get over my fear of the car?

-Moose the French Bulldog

Howl Moose,

I am sorry you were involved in an accident and are afraid of the car. However, the car can be a wonderful place. I know this may seem crazy to you but it is true.

First of all, if your humans put the windows down you can stick your head out of the window and feel the fresh breeze rush through your fur. I love this. It makes you feel like you are flying.

Secondly, a trip in the car doesn’t always mean that humans are taking you to the you know….the vet.  My humans let me in the car to go to the food store. Do you think our kibble shows up out of thin air? If they do take you to the food store on the return trip try to smell as much food as possible from the bags in that back of the car.

Sometimes the humans take Bella and I on long rides out of our territory in the car.  It is nice to get away from the daily grind of our yard. Without the car, we would go only as far as our furry legs could take us. Trust me the car can take us much farther.

The next time your humans put you in the car try not to panic. Instead just sit up and enjoy the view as the car moves.  Try letting the breeze move through your fur. If this is too much for you to handle then look for pieces of dropped kibble or food on the floor. You’ll be at your destination before you know it.

Woof,

DiDi

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

8 thoughts on “Moose the French Bulldog: How do I get over my fear?

  1. Treats in the car sounds like a great idea! I must encourage my people to keep the car well stocked.

  2. Yikes we don’t let our dogs stick their heads out the window. Too much chance for injury. But I do agree that Moose’s people should take him some fun places in the car. Short trips at first to fun places.

  3. Sound advice DiDi but sometimes logic can’t overcome irrational fears. Perhaps Moose could try sitting in the car with the door open and windows down and not go anywhere and be rewarded with a treat – after a few times just go on a short journey, get out and go for a walk. It might help Moose associate car travel with good things.

Talk to us! We're listening.

