Lacey the Beagle: Can I make it in the big city?

Dear Paws to Talk,

My humans just moved the little humans and me from a large house with rolling hills to a small city apartment with no yard. I am in shock.

In the apartment, every time I turn a corner trying to enter a new room I end up back in the room where I started. Worst of all, I had to do my business on concrete last night. There is no yard! Don’t humans know they have to give us some grass so we can find the right scent to poop on? How am I ever going to make it in this place?

-Lacey the Beagle

Howl Lacey,

I am sorry you had to leave your rolling hills but life changes all the time. So get used to it! Before DiDi was around, my humans took me to New York City for a trip. One of my little humans grew up and moved there.

I got out of the car and stepped onto the sidewalk. I thought, “What filth!” Have I made a mistake in raising one of my humans?

I didn’t do my business for 24 hours in fear of touching my behind on the sidewalk. Yuccckkkk!

Then I settled in. All the humans that I loved were there with me. I had kibble and water. I didn’t really have anything to be afraid of. I decided I couldn’t hold it anymore so I did my business on the sidewalk (I was thankful that my mommy freshened me up with a warm towel afterwards).

Then the best thing happened. All of us went on a walk in this enormous park. It had pathways and lawns forever. Between you and me it was much nicer than my immaculate yard at home. I even saw all kinds of canines trotting through the park. I took a big sigh of relief.

You just need to get used to your new surroundings and you will be fine. I am sure you will find your own big yard in the city. Above all don’t panic

Woof,

Bella

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

9 thoughts on “Lacey the Beagle: Can I make it in the big city?

  1. AAWW Lacey the Beagle. I know what you mean about living in small places. I do too. The key is to make the small space the best little place in the world. Make it yours and in no time you’ll be feeling right at home. Snout kisses!

  2. Reblogged this on Paws to Talk and commented:

    Howl,
    Our humans returned today from a weekend trip, so we are tied up giving them loves. Thankfully, our busy spring is over and we’ll be able to devote proper time to our readers. Until tomorrow, enjoy an early Paws to Talk entry.

    Woof,
    Bella and DiDi

Talk to us! We're listening.

