Peppermint the Calico Cat: Should I like dogs?

Dear Paws to Talk,

I was recently adopted from the local shelter and given a wonderful home. I share the house with Rufus a large mixed breed dog. Before I joined my new home, all my fellow felines warned me what to do if I found myself living with a canine. They told me to hiss, show my claws outstretched and above all guard my food.

When I got to my new home, I showed Rufus how fierce I was. He was unaffected. Moreover, I actually like being around Rufus. Sometimes we share toys, he never steals my food and doesn’t even mind that my litter box is just a few feet away from his kibble bowl. He is a big love. Should I follow the long-standing feline orders around Rufus or let my guard down?

-Peppermint the Calico Cat

Howl Peppermint,

What a refreshing name you have. You have the honor of being our first cat letter (We still can’t believe we are doing this). We don’t interact with felines much at all but you seem very nice.

We think that you should embrace your canine brother Rufus. He sounds like a kind dog. We have often been told by our elders to stay away from cats because they will scratch your nose. However, maybe that’s not always good advice.

If you truly enjoy Rufus then forget about what you are supposed to do. Join in when he is playing, try to use your litter box when he is not eating and see if he will share the couch with you at nap time. Relish being a feline and stretch your claws out but know you are capable being a good sibling to anyone. You don’t have to live by your fellow feline ‘s assumptions. Be your own cat!

It sounds like Rufus and you will have many great adventures to share as you settle into this new arrangement. Let us know if you are defying the odds and if dogs and cats can really live together in harmony. Peace out Peppermint.

Woof,

Bella and DiDi

 © Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

2 thoughts on “Peppermint the Calico Cat: Should I like dogs?

Talk to us! We're listening.

