Tulius the Polish Lowland Sheepdog: I just lost my brother. How do I start to feel better?

Dear Paws to Talk,

I am so sad. My older brother, Tyo went to heaven recently. I miss him so much. He taught me everything I know like how to win the love of my two little humans and obtain good scraps while the dishwasher door is open.

Tyo always looked out for me. Each night, he made sure my bed was warm before I went to sleep. I am too upset to eat, walk or even bark. How do I start to feel better? Should my humans get a new sibling for me?

-Tulius the Polish Lowland Sheepdog

Howl Tulius,

I am so sorry for the loss of your brother. Before DiDi came into my house, I had an older brother. He was a miniature poodle named Marty. When I was a young canine he died. Marty used to teach me how to hide from the humans when they wanted to give me medicine or scold me. He was my great companion even though he was shorter than me. Not all of us are perfect.

Marty had been sick. One day he went away and never came back. I knew he went to be with other dogs in the sky.

The best thing I can suggest is to let your feelings out. I held onto Marty’s favorite toy, a rubber sneaker and sobbed. I did this on and off for a while even when my humans were staring at me.

You need to fully mourn the loss of your brother. Don’t be afraid to feel it even if you end up with furry bags under your eyes.

Once you have had enough time to feel sad, your humans should get you another sibling. Another canine in the house will make you feel better and give you a chance to make new memories. You will never forget Tyo but you need to focus on making the most of the life you have without him.

When you do get a new sibling you have to be prepared to teach him or her the same things Tyo taught you. This is a very important job. You don’t want an unruly younger sibling running around.

Even though we are different and she doesn’t always listen to me, DiDi makes my life better. I hope your new sibling does the same for you.

Write back and let me know how you are doing.

Woof,

Bella

© Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Margot Ahlquist and Paws to Talk with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

6 thoughts on “Tulius the Polish Lowland Sheepdog: I just lost my brother. How do I start to feel better?

  1. Tulius, I hope that Bella’s advice helped you cope during that very difficult time. Tall person told me that nothing ever dies – it just changes and becomes part of something else. He said that every atom in our bodies was once part of a star and is eternal. So the next time you feel the wind in your face, or the sun on your back or you look up and see the stars you will know that Tyo is part of everything that is wonderful.

  2. Reblogged this on Paws to Talk and commented:

    Howl Friends,
    Given that some of our blog pals are grappling with the loss of special canines, we are reblogging this entry we wrote during our first week as bloggers. We hope it is helpful.
    We’ll be back tomorrow with some new stuff.
    Woof,
    Bella and DiDi

Talk to us! We're listening.

